Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
I have a dell inspiron 8200 (15" UXGA) and the only supported resolutions I can find to work are those atr 1400x1050 and below. Im wondering if there is a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    11

    NVIDIA driver wont suppot 1600x1200?


    I have a dell inspiron 8200 (15" UXGA) and the only supported resolutions I can find to work are those atr 1400x1050 and below. Im wondering if there is a fix for 1600x1200?

  2. #2
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    If I used that resolution I'd have to use a microscope...

    Have you tried editing your /etc/X11/xorg.conf/XF86Config to add that resolution in?
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    The config file is either /etc/X11/XF86Config or /etc/X11/xorg.conf.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,630
    I figure he already knew that...
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered: #371367 New Members: click here

  6. #5
    Linux User Krendoshazin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    471
    i'm using 1600x1200 @ 75Hz with no problems, so it does support it

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    908
    Quote Originally Posted by Dapper Dan
    I figure he already knew that...
    Yes, just to clarify.. just in case, maybe he/she doesn't know.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    11
    Im aware of the XF86Config-4 file, thats the file I used to set the resolution, X Windows doesnt seem however to want to run 1600x1200, ive been looking into this for about a week, and ugh... ( frustration ) just wondering if anyone knows whats up.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1
    pcxmac, I've the same problem!

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie deek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Posts
    248
    Also, make sure you have the correct refresh rates on your monitor. If you monitor can support that resolution, then as long as you have the correct rates in your config file, you should see it as an option.
    Join the Open Source Revolution. Support GNU/Linux.

    Find me at: www.deeksworld.com
    Registered GNU/Linux User #395777

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •