Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I chose GNOME when I installed mandrake 9.1, I have since decided I didint like it. i would like to go back to kde. how do I make it my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56

    how do i change default desktop environment?


    I chose GNOME when I installed mandrake 9.1, I have since decided I didint like it. i would like to go back to kde. how do I make it my default desktop? thx.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    All you have to do is edit your /etc/rc.conf. Look for the line that begins with XSESSION= and just replace gnome with kde-3.1 and that should do it.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    no such file. :/

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    flw
    flw is offline
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    1,025
    The assumption is that you have installed any version KDE during initial install or after. If you have not, download and install it. Then you'll be able to pickup this post where it was left. And post which version you installed.
    Dan

    \"Keep your friends close and your enemies even closer\" from The Art of War by Sun Tzu\"

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    56
    i reinstalled lol. cant stand going to such lengths just to change default desktop. :/

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Australia & England
    Posts
    75

    That's one way to fix it! LOL

    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    ..
    But gnome is better

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Dayton, OH
    Posts
    137
    Quote Originally Posted by ventricle
    But gnome is better
    That is all a matter of opinion.

    but why the reinstall? isn't there something in Mandrake that allows you to choose the Desktop environment before you login as your user? Redhat allows it after the boot is all done and it is just waiting for you to login and what not. Don't remember much from my Mandrake 8.0 days. Sorry. but glad to see you got it anyways. even if you did do it the hard way.
    Quickdraw returns ... more news at 11!

    I like to try all flavors of the rainbow. Running SuSE 10.1 on my laptop, Windows XP on my desktop, and an Mac OS X on my Mac powerbook.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    2

    primary desktop

    I changed my Primary desktop to GNOME in Free Suse 10.1 and want to change it back via the console ( in fail safe mode ) and don't know how to?

    pango fonts aren't working, eek! So, the GNOME interface in having a LOT of trouble.

    Isn't there a command/file that controls what the default desktop environment is in the system files, or a file that I can edit that can make the gui login screen start, so I can change the default desktop environment. Rather than the OS startup, boot strait to the desktop environment, GNOME. I assume so because there is a way to change desktop environments via the gui login screen, thus it only makes sense to me that you can via the fail safe console.

    Please help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •