Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Hi I'm new to linux and would like to setup a vnc server so that i can access it from my other windows xp sp2 pc. I am using Suse ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2

    VNC problem


    Hi
    I'm new to linux and would like to setup a vnc server so that i can access it from my other windows xp sp2 pc. I am using Suse Linux 9.3.

    far as i now that the server is running because after i enter the command 'netstat -an | more' in the console and i get this in the results:

    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5801 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN
    tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5901 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN

    According to the tutorial at: http://www.linuxforums.org/tutorials...orial-973.html

    that means the server is running. but when i use a vnc viewer on a windows machine it says that there it can't find the server. the address i enter in the vnc server is '192.168.1.4:5901' that the ip of the linux machine.

    Can any one please help me with this problem please.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Are you running an X-server in addition to the VNC server? Try connecting to 192.168.1.4 or 192.168.1.4:0 or 192.168.1.4:1 since the :0 at the last is the number of the X-server, starting at 0 and increasing. If I run both a local X-server and a seperate VNC-session here, it works to connect to localhost:1

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2
    I have tried it with 1 and 0 and still it fails to connect to the server.

    i am using tightvnc that i think came with suse.

    does suse 9.3 have built in firewall that is blocking the ports because i haven't installed a firewall on it and if so how do i go about finding out how to open the ports.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer rong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    California
    Posts
    803
    Quote Originally Posted by aceafty
    I have tried it with 1 and 0 and still it fails to connect to the server.

    i am using tightvnc that i think came with suse.

    does suse 9.3 have built in firewall that is blocking the ports because i haven't installed a firewall on it and if so how do i go about finding out how to open the ports.
    Yes suse has firewall and it is on by default. Go to YAST and i think its under Security... don't recall for sure but it's there.
    registered Linux user #388382

    Have you checked here first?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •