Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ok, I'm fairly new to linux. I have been "messing" with it for several years, but I still feel fairly new. This is also my first post in this forum. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

startup applications, like in Windows

Ok, I'm fairly new to linux. I have been "messing" with it for several years, but I still feel fairly new. This is also my first post in this forum. I have Fedora Core 3, running gnome (the default).

I want a Firefox window to run automatically when a specific user logs into Gnome (not every user). This seems like an easy enough task, but I just can't figure it out on my own. In windows I would just put a shortcut of firefox in the <startup> folder. How do I accomplish the same thing in Fedora Core 3 gnome?

thanx!

Linux Engineer
    FIrst, login as that user and open firefox. Then, without closing firefox, open the menu and press "logout". Then, an menu should show up, select "logout" and "save session", and loguot. When you login again, firefox should be there.

Just Joined!
    There is a menu option (at least with Ubuntu/gnome) that lets you select which applications to start-up with. I forgot what it's called, however. jab's suggestion also works, and I believe that it is a way to auto-configure it.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Just Joined!
    Just edit your .xinitrc in your user's home directory with the line

Code:
    exec firefox&

Just Joined!
    OK, neither of these suggestions worked.

1. Whe I tried the "save current session" option when logging out, I got a message saying "firefox does not support being saved and will have to be manually restarted next time you log it"

2. When I tried editing my .xinitrc absolutely nothing happend.