Find the answer to your Linux question:
I'm using Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES 2.1 in 4 CD's. This is my first time to use Linux and I don't know much about Linux commands yet. I've suceeded ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Stuck up in Xconfigurator for Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES 2.1

I'm using Red Hat Enterprise Linux ES 2.1 in 4 CD's. This is my first time to use Linux and I don't know much about Linux commands yet. I've suceeded so far in installing it and my boot loader is LILO coz GRUMP doesn't boot. I can go so far as logging in. Now, I want to use XWindows. But in Xconfigurator (text based), my card and monitor are not in the list and I can't seem to make a guess on a card-monitor pair that might be compatible with my hardware. What should I do? I know Windows and it have autodetect function. I don't see something like autodetect for video card and monitor in Linux. I admit my Red Hat version is a little bit old, my guess is newer versions have more hardware in its list. But I'm hoping Linux would use generic cards and monitors, is it possible? How do I add a new driver? Please teach me step by step specially the commands to type because I swear I really don't understand them this time. If there's a link that discuss this problem please show me. Thanks for your attention.

What type of card and monitor do you have?

In all honesty, auto-configuration of Xservers is one of the features that has come the furthest in linux over the past few years, probably 90% of setups can be configured automaticaly to a satisfactory level. Is there a particular reason you want this version of RH? If not, consider moving up the ladder a bit, it will help considerably.
    Avoid the Gates of Hell. Use Linux
    A Penny for your Thoughts

Formerly Known as qub333

Just Joined!