Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
xsessions? Are you really typing it correctly? It's supposed to be .xsession-errors. Note the dot at the beginning....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578

    xsessions? Are you really typing it correctly? It's supposed to be .xsession-errors. Note the dot at the beginning.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66
    session_manager=local/localhost.localdomain/tmp/.ice-unix/2528
    esd: Esound sound daemon already running or stale unix socket
    /tmp/.esd/socket
    This socket already exist indicating esd is already runninng.
    exiting...
    **(gnome-panel:260: WARNING**: unable to load panel stock icon 'go'

    ah haw i forgot the . stupid thing -=] but any way thats the error message i get and it kinda makes sence i was messing with sound files when i crashed so maybe i cant play internet radio and try to play with wav and ogg files at the same time (this was when i was trying to play with em so i could get my files to play when GNOME starts up or shuts down... and after sox i finally got it to work)

    thanks dolda for all your support
    fragment
    I00I0I

  3. #13
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Still, nothing of that seems to be something that would make the whole desktop crash. Is there really not a single program that's responding? Could you try, the next time it happens, to just leave it in place, go to a text terminal and run a few commands for me?
    Code:
    ps -lp $(/sbin/pidof gnome-panel)
    gdb -p $(/sbin/pidof gnome-panel)
    <The following commands are meant to be run from within gdb, once you get a &#40;gdb&#41; prompt>
    bt
    detach
    quit
    <You should be returned to the shell here>

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66
    ok ill try that next time it happens and post it here but i got one more question what the hell does
    /.configure
    make
    make install
    where do i run this. i tried to run it in terminal but i dont get anthing working right plz help me lord knows i need it

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66
    heh ok i figured some stuff out on that whole configure thins first off its ./configure not /.configure (if im correct and file with a . infront of it is a hidden file right?) second when i do run ./configure i get

    creating cache ./config.cache
    checking for a BSD compatible install... /usr/bin/install -c
    checking whether build environment is sane... yes
    checking whether make sets ${MAKE}... yes
    checking for working aclocal... missing
    checking for working autoconf... missing
    checking for working automake... missing
    checking for working autoheader... missing
    checking for working makeinfo... missing
    checking whether to enable maintainer-specific portions of Makefiles... no
    checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
    checking for gcc... no
    checking for cc... no
    configure: error: no acceptable cc found in $PATH

    now when i run make
    make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
    and now i run make install
    make: *** No rule to make target `install'. Stop.

    now i dont hink im doing this right soooooo if you can give some of that allmighty guru support im soo use to love ya guys you have been VERY!! helpfull on my journey into linux

    thanks again
    fragment
    I00I0I

  6. #16
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    123
    Well you're missing a C compiler, more specifically the one included in the gcc package. You'll have to install that first, and if you ever get an error during the ./configure or make part of an installation, then you can't install the program.
    Linux Underground (my own linux website)

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66
    ok i got emacs isnt that a compiler?? i got redhat 9

  8. #18
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    emacs is primarily an editor, but admittedly, it's also a compiler. However, it's not a C compiler, but a LISP compiler, and most programs that you download are written in C. For that part, emacs doesn't even compile LISP to machine language, but to elisp-bytecode.
    Anyway, like revolve says, you'll need to install gcc.

  9. #19
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    southern california
    Posts
    66
    ok i got gcc but its a tar.Z and i cant see to unzip it or un roll it what ever linux calls it. also ide like to thank dolda for the help on my orinoco problem i modified that file modules.config and it WORKED!! but im just wondering eth1 its set up as a d-link de650 not a orinoco card (when i set it up as that it does not work) but it seems to work ok so if i do have any problems ill let you guys know

    thanks again
    fragment
    I00I0I

  10. #20
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Try running gunzip on the tar.Z file. However, that file will contain the source code for GCC, which you need GCC installed in order to be able to compile it. You should install the binary distribution of GCC that comes with your distro instead.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •