Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I was just reading the "KDE - Help Center" for konsole.It says that you can invoke konsole with the option --script file in order to Allow the use of extended ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    575

    DCOP commands ?


    I was just reading the "KDE - Help Center" for konsole.It says that
    you can invoke konsole with the option --script file in order to
    Allow the use of extended DCOP commands to paste text into sessions.
    I have no idea what these DCOP commands are.Can someone give me
    some pointers ?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035

  3. #3
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    575
    Thanks.I had a quick look.I'm still not clear what it's for.Can someone
    give me a practical example where one would use this sort of
    meachanism ? Also it doesn't seem to say what the file following
    the --script option ought to contain.It only mentions C++ code.

  4. #4
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    I'm not familiar with using it for scripts, but as I recall from a tutorial I read on it awhile ago, dealing with say konqueror, you could do:
    Code:
    dcop konqueror default openBrowserWindow www.foo.com
    , and that would open www.foo.com in konqueror. To list what you can do with a specific DCOP-enabled application, just do:
    Code:
    dcop foo default

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    575
    I just tried
    Code:
    dcop konsole default
    and got
    Code:
    object 'default' in application 'konsole' not accessible
    Specifying the full pathname for konsole didn't make any real
    difference.

  6. #6
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Hmmm...guess my memory doesn't serve me that well...I guess it's:
    Code:
    dcop foo

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    575
    dcop konsole gives No such application: 'konsole'
    Needless to say I have konsole.

  8. #8
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    Code:
    dcop
    will list all dcop-able apps.

  9. #9
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    575
    That worked.Thanks.

    It seems that konsole should have been followed by its process id.
    But I only get a list of C++ functions so it still doesn't tell me what I
    can do with it from the command line or just running the application.
    Assuming that I can do something.

  10. #10
    Linux Guru lakerdonald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Posts
    5,035
    I guess then:
    Code:
    dcop konsole-XXXX default
    would give you the things you can do. And then just call those functions with whatever arguments it takes on the command line:
    Code:
    dcop konsole-XXXX default foo(bar, baz)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •