Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I have a usb microsoft optical wheel mouse. Does anyone know how to get the wheel mouse to scroll in firefox? i tried all mouse setups in my xorgconfig and ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    8

    Wheel mouse


    I have a usb microsoft optical wheel mouse.
    Does anyone know how to get the wheel mouse to scroll in firefox?
    i tried all mouse setups in my xorgconfig and nothing.
    I am using blackbox window manager
    Thank you for your help

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Can you use the scroll anywhere but Firefox, or not anywere at all? can you post your mouse section of your xorg.conf please?

    You should have it somthing like this:
    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
    Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    8
    I can use the wheel mouse as a button for selecting workspaces in blackbox.
    but thats about it.

    here is my xorg file

    Section "InputDevice"

    # Identifier and driver

    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "Auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"

    # Mouse-speed setting for PS/2 mouse.

    # Option "Resolution" "256"

    # When using XQUEUE, comment out the above two lines, and uncomment
    # the following line.

    # Option "Protocol" "Xqueue"

    # Baudrate and SampleRate are only for some Logitech mice. In
    # almost every case these lines should be omitted.

    # Option "BaudRate" "9600"
    # Option "SampleRate" "150"

    # Emulate3Buttons is an option for 2-button Microsoft mice
    # Emulate3Timeout is the timeout in milliseconds (default is 50ms)

    Option "Emulate3Buttons"
    # Option "Emulate3Timeout" "50"

    # ChordMiddle is an option for some 3-button Logitech mice

    # Option "ChordMiddle"

    EndSection

  4. #4
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Code:
    Identifier "Mouse1"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "Auto"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"  
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    I think sometimes also you need to set your ZAxisMapping to "6 7"...I have to do that with my intellimouse, I think becasue of its number of buttons.
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  6. #6
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    think sometimes also you need to set your ZAxisMapping to "6 7"...I have to do that with my intellimouse, I think becasue of its number of buttons.
    The ZAxisMapping is always the last 2 buttons so if a 7 button mouse then "6 7" if like my 12 button mouse it is "11 12"
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •