Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
hey guys i am a total linux noob. I was just about to get it when the computer that i was about to load it on died. Anyway i just ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    42

    Can u have multiple gui's per machine?


    hey guys i am a total linux noob. I was just about to get it when the computer that i was about to load it on died. Anyway i just decided i am going to buy a second drive and just install linux on that drive. Anyway i just had the little question on my mind of "can u have mutltiple guis installed on one computer?" Sorry if this sounds stupid guys, but thanks i appreciate the help.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru smolloy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    CA, but from N.Ireland
    Posts
    2,414
    If you mean windows managers like KDE and gnome, then yeah, you can have more than one on your machine. You can only use one at a time tho...
    Registered Linux user #388328 || Registered LFS user #15880
    AMD 64 X2 4600+ :: 2X1GB DDR2 800 :: GeForce 9400 GT 512MB :: ASUS M2N32 Deluxe :: 4X250GB SATAII
    Need instant help? Try us on IRC -- #linuxforums on freenode

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    42
    ya thats what i mean, funny u mentioned those becuase those are the exact two i want. Anyway so is there just like a command or setting that lets u switch from one to the other?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Which distro are you installing?
    Not all distros have the same command for changing WM/DE's.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    42
    im going to use vector linux. Others have told me it rocks and from what i have read and seen it looks great.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by smolloy
    If you mean windows managers like KDE and gnome, then yeah, you can have more than one on your machine. You can only use one at a time tho...
    I can start multiple new X sessions from KDE, and I get my choice of WM.
    200mhz Pentium 1 with MMX, 128mb RAM, 10gb Seagate HDD. Beastly.

  8. #7
    Linux Guru Cabhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Posts
    3,252
    You can have multiple installed at once. I believe that it is possible to have one or two open at a time, but I don't know how.

    Personally, I boot into the commandline, then start up X. So I can access change my WM very easily:

    Code:
    echo "exec startfluxbox" > ~/.xinitrc
    startx
    That would startup Fluxbox. Or "startkde" for KDE. Or "enlightenment" for Enlightenment 17, or "e16" for Enlightenment 16.

    It's simple, fun, and easy!

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    181
    When you're in KDE you can start a new X session running KDM, allowing you to choose your WM there. I've only tried running two at once, but I see no reason it wouldn't take several more (performance would be questionable however).
    200mhz Pentium 1 with MMX, 128mb RAM, 10gb Seagate HDD. Beastly.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    From KDE 3.3 onwards you can choose start new session on the Kmenu, and from 3.4 by right clicking on the desktop and choosing the same. Usually, for logging into one at a time when it comes to login time (assuming you don't use autologin) you should be able to select from your DM (KDM / GDM - Referring to the display manager which manages you Xsession for you)

  11. #10
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    You can use Xnest to run several different window managers at one time if you want. It works by allowing you to nest additional Xsessions inside of already running Xsessions. I think Xephr might also do this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •