Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello ! I think of using Konstruct for upgrading my KDE 3.3.2 to KDE 3.4.2 on my beloved french Mandriva 2005 LE. I have read the readme but since i'm ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

Using konstruct to install KDE 3.4.2, plenty of questions :)

Hello !
    I think of using Konstruct for upgrading my KDE 3.3.2 to KDE 3.4.2 on my beloved french Mandriva 2005 LE.
    I have read the readme but since i'm still new to the Linux world (I made the switch from MS-windows four months ago), I'll be more reassured if I ask for a confirmation of my guesses
    I have plenty of questions, so I have tried to sort them a bit. After all, each of them is linked to the other. I have searched forums and google for most of them, so the remaining ones are the questions for which I found no crystal-clear answers (well, clear enough for a half-newb !)

Thanks a lot if you can reply to those questions, or a part of those

--------------
    1/ The lazy solution
    --------------

First, in order to avoid hard work if possible : would you know of a repository for Mandriva 2005 LE RPMs for KDE 3.4.2 ?
    I searched a bit without success. There was a thread but the links given in it are dead links, alas.
    "Thacs" repository might have looked good, but for the two apps I tried to install from its RPMs, it failed, so I suspect the builder of those RPMs had some stuff that I don't have myself, which makes it unproper for me.
    Without RPMs, i'll do it the konstruct way

--------------
    2/ Overlapping KDEs ?
    --------------

If I install KDE into /home/sabin/kde3.4.2 (yeah, ~ is /home/sabin/ ) with konstruct, as default setting does, does that mean that I will have the choice, on startup, between KDE 3.3.2 and 3.4.2 ?