Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi i have just started "playing" with linux and i am having trouble getting to the GUI logon. I run "redhat-config-xfree86" after loggin on in txt mode and recieved the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    8

    Another newbie trying to get to the GUI logon!!


    Hi i have just started "playing" with linux and i am having trouble getting to the GUI logon. I run "redhat-config-xfree86" after loggin on in txt mode and recieved the following.

    * ddcprobe returned bogus values:

    ID: NONE
    NAME: NONE
    HorizSync:NONE
    VertSync:NONE

    i8253 count too high resetting ..
    xconf.py: Fatal IO error 2 (connection reset by peer) on X server:17.0.

    If any one has any idea what that little lot means (cause i don't) could you please translate it for me and give me a few pointers?

    Thanks in advanced

    Dan

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    It seems that your monitor wouldn't be DDC compatible. Can you post what monitor you have and also what video card you have?

    Also, what happens if you run the following command?
    Code:
    XFree86 -configure

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    8
    Hi thanks for replying. First things first the monitor is and old one its make is ADC which i have never heard of but i have also tried the machine on a brand new dell monitor and that made no difference. As for the graphics card again thats old too lol its a S3 trio64V2/DX.

    Right now when i run that code you sent me it came up and said that it found my mouse on /dev/mouse and then had another line of code that it told me to run to test my server. When i run this i got a black screen with the mouse cursorand nothing else.

    Hope this makes sense

    Thanks

    Dan

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    8
    another thing as well is that the machine has worked with that graphics card and that monitor and it seems to have just stopped for no good reason but obviously something has changed lol

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    run xf86config. or edit /etc/X11/XF86Config by hand (you will probably go with the first one) this can be done in the terminal, must be done in text, there is no gui for it.

    in order to do this, you will need to know:

    * exact monitor rates
    * video card model and make and ram amount
    * resolution you want to use on the monitor (800x600 for all three modes and lower would be recommended)
    * your keyboard type (easy)
    * your mouse type and what device it is

    get all of this info first, then run xf86config and enter the values and see how it turns out.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    8
    Hi,

    I tried running xf86config and i got the error message
    bash : xf86config command not found

    then i tried the manual one and i got told access denied although i am logged on as root.

    cheers

    Dan

  8. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    556
    try running xf86config from within the /etc/X11/ directory.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Or xf86cfg.

  10. #9
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    160

    Are you Root

    try typing su from a terminal

    enter your password then run XF86config

    cheers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •