Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am totally new to linux. Just installed and patched Redhat 9. How do I know if I am using KDE or GNOME as my X-Windowing application. This is run ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

KDE or GNOME

I am totally new to linux. Just installed and patched Redhat 9. How do I know if I am using KDE or GNOME as my X-Windowing application.

This is run level 5 correct?

Thanks
    MB

The gui runs in runlevel 5 indeed.
    There are several ways of checking if it is KDE or Gnome I guess.
    Red Hat installs gnome by default so you have to explicitly choose to install KDE.

What does the menu button (equivalent to start in windows) look like?
    By default KDE uses a red hat as icon and I believe gnome as a footprint icon.

Someone will post a better answer shortly
    I am on a journey to mastering Linux and I got a bloody long way to go!!!

Just Joined!
    I have the red hat. So how do I change between the two?

Which one is better or what are the major advatages of KDE or disadvatages.

Linux Engineer
    kde and gnome are both a bit slow, when you get a bit more familiar with linux you should try other windowmanagers like blackbox or windowmaker (i use blackbox) there are others too all with different featues. but for now i would use KDE it is faster and easyer to use than gnome and konqueror is an exelent web/filesystem browser (you can use konqueror in other windowmanagers too) kde also has a fairly massive set of apps for doing just about anything with your machine.
    No doubt others will dissagree with me about what windowmanager is best but everyone has there own faveourite and you will soon find yours. to switch between the two you have to select which windowmanager to load at startup when you log in.

gnomes nautilus browser sucks:)

Linux Guru