Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Xfce4

Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,901

    Quote Originally Posted by a thing

    Why become root?

    echo "exec startxfce4">~/.xinitrc will set XFCE4 to the default.
    I tried this on my Gentoo system, and this is the result
    myusername@gentoo ~ $ echo "exec startxfce4">~/.xinitrc
    bash: /home/myusername/.xinitrc: Permission denied
    If you want to learn more about linux take a linux journey
    https://linuxjourney.com/
    Use CODE tags when posting output of commands. Thank you.
    https://www.linuxcounter.net/cert/608410.png

  2. #12
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    I've never been denied permission to ~/.xinitrc on Fedora or Debian. It doesn't make sense that a user doesn't have control over his/her own user-specfic config file.

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    49
    i got a suggestion try running slax popcorn edition its xfce it is very nice.
    try it.
    and yes xfce takes virtually no ram

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    There are a few distros that run xfce by default, a nice live variant is Xfld, shows off the xfce environment nicely. Xfce will use less sistem resources than Gnome (and much less than KDE), and it can run apps from both. You can even load the Gnome or KDE services at startup, though this will slow it down quite a bit. Since I've started using xfce, I've also moved away from KDE-centric programs (and to a lesser extent Gnome ones). Everything just runs faster
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

  6. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Turn Around
    Posts
    202
    i got it yesterday and its great

    im just having trouble changing the BG. when i change it to one of my own png or jpgs it wont load... i just have that wierd X black and white pattern.

  7. #16
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by DoctorDan
    i got it yesterday and its great

    im just having trouble changing the BG. when i change it to one of my own png or jpgs it wont load... i just have that wierd X black and white pattern.
    You got Xfce? Or a distro such as xfld? I've never had a problem with changing the backround, except in Vector, which used the Rox window manager (at least that's what I think it is), which wouldn't let me change the backround in xfce. You did check off the 'show image' in the settings menu, under desktop?
    Stumbling around the 'net:
    www.cloudyuseful.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •