Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
I'm wondering about some of your opinions on xfce. Right now I have Gnome. My computer running Linux(Debain sarge) is pretty crappy, having only 64MB RAM and 350MHz. Will Xfce ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Turn Around
    Posts
    202

    Xfce4


    I'm wondering about some of your opinions on xfce. Right now I have Gnome. My computer running Linux(Debain sarge) is pretty crappy, having only 64MB RAM and 350MHz. Will Xfce be nicer to my ram than Gnome? I was told that adding more swap space could be helpful (256MB currently for swap). Lastly, I was hoping that xfce will run some of the apps that i already have in gnome (GRIP, FF, gaim, xchat, stuff like that). For a period of time that I test xfce will it be possible to keep gnome (like what will X use when I type startx.. gnome or xfce and where can i change that?)?

    Sorry for all the questions and newbiness, but I know I can get reliable answers from the people here.

    Thanks ,
    Dan

    PS: I have googled also... it says its GNOME-compatible, but i dont know in what sense they mean? in terms of applications?

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Xfce4 (or Fluxbox) would be good for that machine.

    I usually run Fluxbox, but when I get bored I uninstall it and install Xfce4 in its place. I run Firefox, Thunderbird, and Xchat all the time, and without problems. Yes, it's compatible with Gnome and KDE apps if you have the necessary files installed (Gnome/KDE libs and such). I personally like to run a minimal OS, so I run programs that don't require any Gnome/KDE libs. It's lightweight and doesn't have all the clutter that comes with Gnome and KDE.

    Good luck with your Linux adventure!

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Turn Around
    Posts
    202
    great, thanks so much for the quick answer. only thing i wonder now is if more swap is a good idea. (oh yea, and also the whole 2 GUIs at one time thing and how to select which one runs default)

  4. #4
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    I keep a 512mb swap but none of it's ever used. However, I do have 1gb of RAM. I think you'll be okay with the 256mb swap if you don't plan to run too many apps at once.

    If you'll have multiple desktops, such as gnome, kde, and xfce4, you can choose the one you want to run under "session" when your display manager starts (providing you are running GDM, or KDM display manager).

  5. #5
    Linux Guru budman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Knee deep in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    3,242
    Or if you prefer the "startx" command.
    In a terminal, do
    Code:
    su >root password
    nano -w .xinitrc
    exec startxfce4
    Ctrl + x and save your work.
    How to know if you are a geek.
    when you respond to "get a life!" with "what's the URL?"
    - Birger

    New users read The FAQ

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Turn Around
    Posts
    202
    i dont understand 100%

    once i open .xinitrc what do i do to it?? add "exec startxfce4" as a line?

  7. #7
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Yes, if you use a .xinitrc file, add what you said as a line and uncomment it, and comment out any other options with a "#".

    Are you using GDM (gnome's display manager) or KDM (kde's display manager)? If so, you'll probably want to pick your "session" there. Otherwise, the .xinitrc option is probably best.

  8. #8
    Trusted Penguin Dapper Dan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    The Sovereign State of South Carolina
    Posts
    4,628
    Another good choice, (and in my opinion, the very best choice for light window managers/desktop environments) is IceWM. It's easy to configure, uses very little resources and is blindingly fast. To install from the command line as root...
    Code:
    apt-get install icewm icewm-themes
    Linux Mint + IceWM Registered:#371367 New Members: click here

  9. #9
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Blackbox and Openbox are also good options, but I personally prefer Fluxbox.

  10. #10
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Chicago (USA)
    Posts
    1,028
    Quote Originally Posted by budman7
    Or if you prefer the "startx" command.
    In a terminal, do
    Code:
    su >root password
    nano -w .xinitrc
    exec startxfce4
    Ctrl + x and save your work.
    Why become root?

    echo "exec startxfce4">~/.xinitrc will set XFCE4 to the default.

    You could also use this little shell script I made for myself:
    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    i=$1
    if [ -z "$i" ]; then
            i=0
    fi
    echo "exec startxfce4">~/.xinitrc
    startx -- :$i

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •