Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I had a spare video card and monitor lying around, so I thought I would try getting a dual monitor setup going, but its not going very well. I have ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    89

    Help with using 2 monitors


    I had a spare video card and monitor lying around, so I thought I would try getting a dual monitor setup going, but its not going very well. I have a Radeon 9200 AGP, and a Trident 96XX. Heres my xorg.conf I made:

    Code:
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	Identifier     "Simple Layout"
    	Screen	"Screen0" "Screen0" 0 0
    	Screen  "Screen1" RightOf" Screen0"
    	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    	InputDevice    "USB Mouse" "CorePointer"
    	#Option "Xinerama"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
    	FontPath	"unix/:7100"			# local font server
    	# if the local font server has problems, we can fall back on these
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/CID"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
    	FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
            # paths to defoma fonts
    	FontPath	"/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
    	FontPath	"/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/CID"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
    	Load	"bitmap"
    	Load	"dbe"
    	Load	"ddc"
    	Load	"dri"
    	Load	"extmod"
    	Load	"freetype"
    	Load	"glx"
    	Load	"int10"
    	Load	"record"
    	Load	"type1"
    	Load	"vbe"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Generic Keyboard"
    	Driver		"keyboard"
    	Option		"CoreKeyboard"
    	Option		"XkbRules"	"xorg"
    	Option		"XkbModel"	"pc104"
    	Option		"XkbLayout"	"us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	Identifier	"Configured Mouse"
    	Driver		"mouse"
    	Option		"CorePointer"
    	Option		"Device"		"/dev/input/mice"
    	Option		"Protocol"		"ImPS/2"
    	Option		"Emulate3Buttons"	"true"
    	Option		"ZAxisMapping"		"4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Monitor0"
    	Option		"DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	Identifier	"Monitor1"
    	Option		"DPMS"	
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier	"Radeon9200"
    	Driver		"ati"
    	BusID		"PCI:2:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
    	Identifier  "Trident96XX"
    	Driver      "vesa"
    	BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier	"Screen0"
    	Device		"Radeon9200"
    	Monitor		"Monitor0"
    	DefaultDepth	24
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth		24
    		Modes		"1280x1024"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
    	Identifier "Screen1"
    	Device     "Trident96XX"
    	Monitor    "Monitor1"
    	DefaultColorDepth 16
    	SubSection "Display"
    		Depth     16
    		Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
    	EndSubSection
    EndSection
    
    Section "DRI"
    	Mode	0666
    EndSection
    When I'm using this config file, X will fail to start. I know I'm doing something wrong, but I don't know what Any help would be appreciated

  2. #2
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    Could you post the error that you get?
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    89
    Error found in line 3 of "ServerLayout":
    Screen keyword must be followed by an option number and screen name in quotes and an optional position/layout information

    Problem parsing the config file
    Error parsing the config file

    Fatal error:
    No screens found

  4. #4
    Linux Guru dylunio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Cymru
    Posts
    4,157
    I now know which part of the config file is wrong, it is this on:
    Screen "Screen1" RightOf" Screen0"
    It may be that the configuration is wrong, since I think you would need to use the quotes in the right way (I don't think you have here). Though since I'm no expert on dual heads this is all the guidence I can give. Though you might want to see what happens if you do:
    Screen "Screen1" "Screen1" 0 0
    as the line (they bothe *should* show the same picture -- if it works you can use it as a base for makeinsg them side by side)
    Registered Linux User #371543!
    Get force-get May The Source Be With You
    /dev/null
    /dev/null2

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    89
    Alright, I got one screen to work...I probably have to set the proper resolution and refresh rate for the other, its a bit old

    Heres what I did:

    Code:
       Screen   0 "screen0" 0 0
       Screen   1 "screen1" 0 0

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    89
    I haven't been able to get the second monitor to display anything

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •