Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi - I have been reading several of the posts regarding desktop customization and using other desktop environments other than GNOME and KDE. I am a person that does not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

What desktop options do I have?

Hi -

I have been reading several of the posts regarding desktop customization and using other desktop environments other than GNOME and KDE. I am a person that does not like to have unused stuff hanging around, and that includes computer programs. I would be very happy without a lot of the extras that seem to come with GNOME and KDE but to remove them seems to break several links until I end up removing the entire desktop environment.

I am pretty new to Linux, but am willing to jump into things if I have enough resources. What other desktop environments are out there? Are they easily customizable? I have seen some smooth looking desktops but haven't the slightest of how to do that. But mainly, I just want to trim the fat. I have no need for a bunch of games that I never play but can't get rid of.

oz
    forum.guy
    Here are a few different WMs and DEs you could try:

http://xwinman.org/

I personally like Fluxbox, Blackbox, Pekwm, XFCE4, Icewm, and wmii-2 (but not necessarily in that order).

This link may help:

I would personally recommend XFCE.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    oz
    forum.guy
    Quote Originally Posted by aysiu
    This link may help:

I would personally recommend XFCE.
    Umm... is there an echo in here? :P

Sorry. I was slow in composing my post while you already posted your reply.

oz
    forum.guy
    No problem... I was just cutting up with you.

It's usually me that posts the same info a minute behind someone else.

Linux User