Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
If i leave my system idle for about 5-10 min it just logs off to the login screen, how can i stop this because i keep losing work etc.......
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    26

    loggin off help


    If i leave my system idle for about 5-10 min it just logs off to the login screen, how can i stop this because i keep losing work etc....

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    is this a laptop?
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    26
    yea it is, u think it would be in the bios menu or something??? or is there a power managment place within RH7.2???

  4. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    there are both options

    in your BIOS you can let the OS control it, or do it yourself and then the OS can handle it on top of that - the first place i would look is BIOS, my laptop has defautl settings of liek 10 minutes on inactive it goes to standby - i bet you the laptop isnt off, its "sleeping" try pressing the power button once (dont hold it) when it does this and see fi it "wakes up"
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    26
    its not even sleeping, it logs me off to the login screen when i leave it sit there. very very weird. any help would be appreciated

  6. #6
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    what distro is this, and what kind of install did you do? (IE is is setup to be a laptop)
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    26
    i did a custom install with all everything installed and i checked the bios and there are no settings there for it. oh and it is red hat 7.2. i keep losing stuff when i go away and come back, it really suks, i think im gonna put 7.3 on it and see if it still does it. thanx

  8. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Daytona Beach, FL
    Posts
    487
    how about 8.0? why use the old stuff...

    Anyhow, i have 8.0 on a dell latitude c840 with no problems
    majorwoo

    Quiet brain, or I\'ll stab you with a Q-tip.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •