Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Hi im new to linux, been using it a week... i need some help with X, im quite sure i configurated dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86 right but when i run the command: ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25

    newbie, cant get x to work on debian.. help plz


    Hi im new to linux, been using it a week...
    i need some help with X, im quite sure i configurated dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86 right but when i run the command: startx i get this:

    Code:
    Skipping "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_clip.o": No symboles found
    Skipping "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_norm.o": No symboles found
    Skipping "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_xform.o": No symboles found
    Skipping "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_vertex.o": No symboles found
    Skipping "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/fonts/libspeedo.a:spencode.o": No symboles found
    (EE) No devices detected.
    
    Fatal server error:
    no screen found
    It's a laptop further information: http://www.dustin.se/dacsaportal/?ProdID=5010084560

    plz help

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    1,366
    ok, first off you need to go to your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file and comment out these lines

    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_clip.o": No symboles found

    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_norm.o": No symboles found

    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_xform.o": No symboles found

    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_vertex.o": No symboles found

    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/fonts/libspeedo.a:spencode.o": No symboles found

    as they are not being seen, secondly a "no screens found" error is generally, in my experience a bad vert and horz sync monitor settings in your XF86Config-4 file, to find correct ones you could either look on the tag on the back of your monitor, or check your monitor's manual possibly online. Xorg has a utility that detects these very well, xorgcfg, there might be an equivalent of this for XFree86. Live CD's also generally have a very good hardware detection, you could pop in knoppix and look for which ranges are used in its /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, and copy either just the ranges or the entire file to your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file, note they are pretty much interchangeable...
    Operating System: GNU Emacs

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25
    hm, ok ok.. how exactly do you mean by comment out?

    Code:
    ok, first off you need to go to your /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file and comment out these lines
    
    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_clip.o": No symboles found
    
    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_norm.o": No symboles found
    
    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_xform.o": No symboles found
    
    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libGLcore.a:m_debug_vertex.o": No symboles found
    
    "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/fonts/libspeedo.a:spencode.o": No symboles found

    pico -w /etc/X11/X86Config-4 and then?

  4. #4
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The Hot Humid South
    Posts
    602
    Quote Originally Posted by slacker-boney
    pico -w /etc/X11/X86Config-4 and then?
    Put # in front of those lines.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25
    there are no such lines in XFConfig-4 tho
    should i add them and put # infront of them? :/

    sry for bugging you with these questions, im very grateful for your help!

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie GNOME_n00b's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    142
    when i tried installing debian, i couldn't get X to work either. i tried 5 times or so, but no luck. i configured it correctly, but it just wasn't having any of it.

  7. #7
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    The Hot Humid South
    Posts
    602
    No, having the # in front of it is the same as not having it.

    Is there any way you can post your complete XF86Config-4 file?

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25
    Code:
    Is there any way you can post your complete XF86Config-4 file?
    had to put the newlines manually so its a bit sloppy but here it is:
    Code:
    # XF86Config-4 (XFree86 X Window System server configuration file)
    
    #
    
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    
    # values from the debconf database.
    
    #
    
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the XF86Config-4 manual page.
    
    # (Type "man XF86Config-4" at the shell prompt.)
    
    #
    
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xfree86 package upgrades *only*
    
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xfree86
    
    # package.
    
    #
    
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    
    # again, run the following commands as root:
    
    #
    
    #   cp /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 /etc/X11/XF86Config-4.custom
    
    #   md5sum /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 >/var/lib/xfree86/XF86Config-4.md5sum
    
    #   dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xfree86
    
    
    
    Section "Files"
    	
    FontPath	"unix/:7100"			# local font server
    	
    # if the local font server has problems, we can fall back on these
    	
    FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc"
    	
    FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    	
    FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
    	
    FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
    	
    FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
    	
    FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/CID"
    	
    FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
    	
    FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi"
    	
    FontPath	"/usr/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    
    
    Section "Module"
    	
    Load	"GLcore"
    	
    Load	"bitmap"
    	
    Load	"dbe"
    	
    Load	"ddc"
    	
    Load	"dri"
    	
    Load	"extmod"
    	
    Load	"freetype"
    	
    Load	"glx"
    	
    Load	"int10"
    	
    Load	"record"
    	
    Load	"speedo"
    	
    Load	"type1"
    	
    Load	"vbe"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	
    Identifier	"Generic Keyboard"
    	
    Driver		"keyboard"
    	
    Option		"CoreKeyboard"
    	
    Option		"XkbRules"	"xfree86"
    	
    Option		"XkbModel"	"pc104"
    	
    Option		"XkbLayout"	"us"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	
    Identifier	"Configured Mouse"
    	
    Driver		"mouse"
    	
    Option		"CorePointer"
    	
    Option		"Device"		"/dev/adbmouse"
    	
    Option		"Protocol"		"BusMouse"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    Section "InputDevice"
    	
    Identifier	"Generic Mouse"
    	
    Driver		"mouse"
    	
    Option		"SendCoreEvents"	"true"
    	
    Option		"Device"		"/dev/input/mice"
    	
    Option		"Protocol"		"ImPS/2"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    
    Section "Device"
    	
    Identifier	"ATI Radeon"
    	
    Driver		"ati"
    	
    VideoRam	131072
    	
    Option		"UseFBDev"		"true"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    
    Section "Monitor"
    	
    Identifier	"Monitor0"
    	
    HorizSync	28-49
    	
    VertRefresh	43-72
    	
    Option		"DPMS"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    
    Section "Screen"
    	
    Identifier	"Default Screen"
    	
    Device		"ATI Radeon"
    	
    Monitor		"Monitor0"
    	
    DefaultDepth	26
    	
    SubSection "Display"
    		
    Depth		2
    		
    Modes		"1024x768"
    	
    EndSubSection
    	
    SubSection "Display"
    		
    Depth		4
    		
    Modes		"1024x768"
    	
    EndSubSection
    	
    SubSection "Display"
    		
    Depth		8
    		
    Modes		"1024x768"
    	
    EndSubSection
    	
    SubSection "Display"
    		
    Depth		15
    		
    Modes		"1024x768"
    	
    EndSubSection
    	
    SubSection "Display"
    		
    Depth		16
    		
    Modes		"1024x768"
    	
    EndSubSection
    	
    SubSection "Display"
    		
    Depth		24
    		
    Modes		"1024x768"
    	
    EndSubSection
    
    EndSection
    
    
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
    	
    Identifier	"Default Layout"
    	
    Screen		"Default Screen"
    	
    InputDevice	"Generic Keyboard"
    	
    InputDevice	"Configured Mouse"
    	
    InputDevice	"Generic Mouse"
    
    EndSection
    
    
    
    Section "DRI"
    	Mode	0666
    
    EndSection

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    25
    aw, finally.. i fixed it.. thx for your help

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1

    great

    Quote Originally Posted by slacker-boney
    aw, finally.. i fixed it.. thx for your help
    hmm, easy write "I fixed it ...", but HOW???
    I have the same problem ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •