Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
The panel clock in KDE has a mind of its own every time i look down at it, it has picked a new day and time to display And i ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666

    KDE System Clock Randomly Changing?


    The panel clock in KDE has a mind of its own every time i look down at it, it has picked a new day and time to display And i mean in the same 24hr. period even in the same hour.-...........
    Whats up!

    Also it seams to me that this site clock is a little off --About 15 minutes fast to me...............?
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  2. #2
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    You are actually about 15 minutes slow. The server is actually revolving about the Earth's axis more quickly that you are, so it seems to you that it's clock is faster.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  3. #3
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    ha ha any ideas on the first question? :banghead:
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  4. #4
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Oh...sorry...meant to say something about that...obviously my mind isn't where I'd like it right now...but anyways. I don't have a clue about the clock changing around...that's wierd. Next time it does that, check your system time via a terminal with the "date" command and see if it's the system time that's screwed up or just KDE.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  5. #5
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    ok the date command gave the same wrong info as the KDE panel.............also it happened this time when i restarted. It picked up the time from when i last shut down linux and switched to windows (The Windows time and date remains correct throughout).

    This is on the laptop w/the 2.4.20 kernal
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  6. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    is the time/date in the BIOS set correctly?

  7. #7
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Ok ck'd the bios and it was off the same as KDE --wrong,but win had the correct time (probably internet set).
    Ok i set the bios clock to correct time and booted linux , when KDE came up the clock was 1hr.slow--restart ,ck bios clock it was 3hr 33min fast!.....?????????? booted linux it was 15min slow. :banghead:

    Dose the mobo need a new battery--for the clock?
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  8. #8
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    I wouldn't think that it would be the CMOS battery unless none of your BIOS settings are staying set when your restart. Check that before worrying about the battery.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  9. #9
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    Ok not the battery....then it's just Snafu eah!
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

  10. #10
    Linux Guru loft306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    The DairyLand
    Posts
    1,666
    just thought i'd punch this up to see if any new guys had any ideas on the problem?
    ~Mike ~~~ Forum Rules
    Testing? What's that? If it compiles, it is good, if it boots up, it is perfect. ~ Linus Torvalds
    http://loft306.org

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •