Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
i've just installed kahakai and i was wondering how to print screenshots.. i can't find it anywhere in the docs.....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078

    screenshots in kahakai


    i've just installed kahakai and i was wondering how to print screenshots.. i can't find it anywhere in the docs..
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer kriss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,113
    I know you can press some buttons in gnome like printfscreen, but can't you just use the gimp or import from ImageMagick?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Open up a term and use this command:

    Code:
    import -window root screenshot.jpg
    Or you can use .png...whatever floats your boat.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    thanks, sarumont.. it was actually your screenshot that made me wanna try kahakai.. it's nice.. now i've just gotta learn how to tell ~/.kahakai/autostart *where* i want the initial programs placed on the desktop...
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Knoxhell, TN
    Posts
    1,078
    hmm.. didn't work.. perhaps i need to emerge ImageMagick first?
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

  7. #6
    Linux Guru sarumont's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    /dev/urandom
    Posts
    3,682
    Yeah...forgot about that one. I thought it was somewhere in defaults.

    /me shrugs.

    But I see you got it working anyways.
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    55 (degrees) north 7 west
    Posts
    126
    get a camera ^_^
    Thanks v much

    \"Anything bigger than my ego i want it caught and killed\"- Zaphod Beeblebrox

    Multi boot:
    Win xp home, SuSE 8.2 and Slackware 9.1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •