Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
anyone know how to have x start automaticly after user login?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    19

    Auto startx


    anyone know how to have x start automaticly after user login?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Well, one way of doing precisely that is to add it to your "~/.bash_profile". However, I suggest starting a real display manager instead. Try "telinit 5" as root, and if that does nothing, just start gdm.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    19
    what do you mean a real display manager? and i add it? how?
    one other thing i've been thinking about, can i auto loggin? when my pc starts up have it auto loggin and auto start x.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    314
    go to /etc/initab

    you should see this line

    id:3:initdefault:

    change it to

    id:4:initdefault:

    that will start a graphic login manager for you.
    The computer made me do it!! Slackware and SUSE too Gig\'em WHOOOOP!!
    \"God put me on this earth to accomplish a certain amount of tasks, At the rate I\'m going I will never die.\" (I don\'t know)

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    Runlevel 5 is the graphic defaultrunlevel....
    Regards

    Andutt

  7. #6
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Quote Originally Posted by andutt
    Runlevel 5 is the graphic defaultrunlevel....
    That's different in different distros. RH-based distros and Gentoo do seem to use RL 5 for the display manager availability, but I know for a fact that eg. Debian does differently, and I suspect that Slackware does too.

    Quote Originally Posted by ravenstyles
    what do you mean a real display manager?
    A display manager is the graphical login manager, and also manages different displays (X servers, essentially). If you have a graphical workstation, it's generally the preferred way to log in.

    Quote Originally Posted by ravenstyles
    and i add it? how?
    That depends on the distro. In RH-based distros (RH, Mdk, etc.), you don't have to add it at all. Just switch to runlevel 5 to make it start. Do that by running "telinit 5" as root.
    Some other distros (such as Debian) do it differently, and unfortunately I don't know exactly how. Tell us your distro, and someone might be able to answer.

    Quote Originally Posted by ravenstyles
    can i auto loggin?
    That depends on the display manager. GDM (the Gnome DM) allows that. I don't think that XDM has that feature. I would guess that KDM has, but I don't use KDM, so I can't tell for sure.

  8. #7
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    314
    since raven had a slackware pic I asumed slackware. So for slackware in the inittab its a default runlevel of three. Here is another question. I start up with gdm but I stall want my other 5 consoles to do other work in. How can I do both.
    The computer made me do it!! Slackware and SUSE too Gig\'em WHOOOOP!!
    \"God put me on this earth to accomplish a certain amount of tasks, At the rate I\'m going I will never die.\" (I don\'t know)

  9. #8
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    They still do. Press Ctrl+Alt+F[1-6] to get to them.

  10. #9
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    TEXAS
    Posts
    314
    the thing is the only one that works is f6. f2-f5 just give me a blck screen that does nothing.
    The computer made me do it!! Slackware and SUSE too Gig\'em WHOOOOP!!
    \"God put me on this earth to accomplish a certain amount of tasks, At the rate I\'m going I will never die.\" (I don\'t know)

  11. #10
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    In that case, your /etc/inittab is probably set incorrectly. Could you post it here?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •