Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 4 of 4
Okay all. I am at my wits end with this one. When I install the latest NVidia drivers and start the x server, my monitor goes to a power saving ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3

    Problems with X11, NVidia, Slackware 10.2


    Okay all. I am at my wits end with this one. When I install the latest NVidia drivers and start the x server, my monitor goes to a power saving state. I checked to make sure that the xorg.conf has the monitor set within an acceptable range and it does. If I use vesa drivers there is no issue - just crappy graphics. I have gotten a similar configuration set up before (except with a Quadro card). Using the NVidia drivers and starting x gives no error in the log. As far as I know the latest version of GLX is installed. Here is the setup:

    Slackware 10.2 - default 2.4.31 kernel
    X11 version 6.9 - also tried with 6.8
    NVidia GeForce 5200 with latest 8178 drivers
    Gateway FPD1940 monitor

    Here is the xorg.conf (comments taken out for readability)

    Code:
    Section "Module"
        Load        "dbe"  	# Double buffer extension
        SubSection  "extmod"
          Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
        EndSubSection
        Load        "type1"
        Load        "freetype"
        Load       "glx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
        RgbPath	"/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
        FontPath   "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier	"Keyboard1"
        Driver	"kbd"
        Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
        Option "XkbRules"	"xorg"
        Option "XkbModel"	"logicdo"
        Option "XkbLayout"	"us"
        Option "XkbVariant"	"us"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier	"Mouse1"
        Driver	"mouse"
        Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"	# IntelliMouse PS/2
        Option "Device"      "/dev/mouse"
        Option "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5 6 7"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
    
        Identifier  "My Monitor"
        HorizSync   31.5 - 64.3
        VertRefresh 50-70
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier  "NVidia"
        Driver      "nvidia"
        VideoRam    131072
        BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
        # Insert Clocks lines here if appropriate
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier  "Screen 1"
        Device      "NVidia"
        Monitor     "My Monitor"
        DefaultDepth 24
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       8
            Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       16
            Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth       24
            Modes       "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
            ViewPort    0 0
        EndSubsection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier  "Simple Layout"
        Screen "Screen 1"
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection
    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux User PsypherPunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    257
    i had exactly the same issue recently. Apparently you need to compile the Nvidia drivers with the parameter:

    Code:
    --force-tls="classic"
    That worked for me!
    Registered Linux User #379728

    SuSE 10.3 :: Athlon XP 3000+ :: AsRock K7VT4A Pro :: Nvidia Geforce 6600GT :: C-Media 8738

    www.psypherpunk.org.uk

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3
    Psypher: thanks for the tip but that didn't do anything

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    3
    This fixed it:

    Code:
    # nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
    # nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder3)  Wed Dec 14 16:39:22 PST 2005
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Layout0"
        Screen      0  "Screen0"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Files"
        RgbPath         "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local/"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/:unscaled"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/:unscaled"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/:unscaled"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic/"
        FontPath        "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load           "dbe"
        Load           "extmod"
        Load           "type1"
        Load           "freetype"
        Load           "glx"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Mouse0"
        Driver         "mouse"
        Option         "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
        Option         "Device" "/dev/mouse"
        Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
        Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        # generated from default
        Identifier     "Keyboard0"
        Driver         "kbd"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier     "Monitor0"
        VendorName     "Unknown"
        ModelName      "Unknown"
        HorizSync       30.0 - 110.0
        VertRefresh     50.0 - 75.0
        Option         "DPMS"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier     "Device0"
        Driver         "nvidia"
        VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
        BusID	   "PCI:01:00:0"
        Option	   "ConnectedMonitor"	"DFP"
        Option	   "DPMS"
        Screen	   0
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier     "Screen0"
        Device         "Device0"
        Monitor        "Monitor0"
        DefaultDepth    24
        SubSection     "Display"
            Depth       24
            Modes      "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
        SubSection	   "Display"
            Depth       32
            Modes      "1600x1200" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        EndSubSection
    
    EndSection
    I hope this helps someone else.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •