Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
I was watching those XGL screenshots with xfce and gnome and all, and I was REALLY excited (I mean, cubic desktops?!), so I decided to get XGL myself, but I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    2

    Question KDE in XGL (or XGL in KDE?)


    I was watching those XGL screenshots with xfce and gnome and all, and I was REALLY excited (I mean, cubic desktops?!), so I decided to get XGL myself, but I wanted it on KDE 3.5 .

    So, my question is, can anyone help me find a way to set up XGL with KDE 3.5 on ArchLinux 0.7.1? I have an ati video card (if anyone needs any more specs, tell me).

    Thanks a lot

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer d38dm8nw81k1ng's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    793
    i don't think it's been released yet to be honest. the next problem you'll have is that ATi cards have a bad reputation for linux drivers. i don't know how to get ATi cards running 3D, but some people have had some luck. what ATi card do you use? that may help.
    Here's why Linux is easier than Windows:
    Package Managers! Apt-Get and Portage (among others) allow users to install programs MUCH easier than Windows can.
    Hardware Drivers. In SuSE, ALL the hardware is detected and installed automatically! How is this harder than Windows' constant disc changing and rebooting?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    As an Arch user myself, I looked it up. I don't think you can use Xgl with KDE yet. I searched through their wiki's and found how to do it with XFCE and Shadowhand's pacman repo (full of lots of svn stuff ). Here is the article should you want to try it with XFCE: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Xgl_with_Xfce

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  4. #4
    Just Joined! Jiraiya-sama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Garland, Tx
    Posts
    3
    actually, the linux drivers for ati have become easier to install. they actually work on suse linux w/o any sort of tweak needed. hopefully this is the same for other distros.

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    Quote Originally Posted by Jiraiya-sama
    actually, the linux drivers for ati have become easier to install. they actually work on suse linux w/o any sort of tweak needed. hopefully this is the same for other distros.
    they also work well with gentoo, arch, and others. i'm sure they works well universally

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Odessa, FL
    Posts
    586
    ok...i got Xgl working with Gnome now and someone seemed to have it working with KDE as well

    here's the thread to look at: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.p...6316&start=300

    the last couple of pages is where the really needed information is...i read through the whole thing though last night because i really wanted to see this work (i'm in it now btw, using gnome).

  7. #7
    Linux Guru bigtomrodney's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ireland
    Posts
    6,133
    I believe you can use it with KDE, but there's something about using Gnome to draw your windows, or at least elements of them

    Looking forward to this. I'm loving the live disc. Have you seen Kororaa ??

  8. #8
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    I got it set up in Gnome (runs perfectly) with help from the gentoo wiki. There's bits in there about KDE also. Don't know if it will help at all.

    http://gentoo-wiki.com/XGL

  9. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Compiz (the XGL windowmanager used in Gnome) can AFAIK be used in KDE too, but you got to leave kwin behind... I think Compiz so far is the only windowmanager supporting XGL.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    El Paso, TX
    Posts
    3
    How to get it working.
    http://en.opensuse.org/Using_Xgl_on_...r_NVIDIA_cards

    Am running suse10.1 but this seems standard to get rid of kwin and using xgl/compiz... still trying to figure out where to get cgwd and gcompizthemer from though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •