Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 18 of 18
Here is the whole thing: Code: # File generated by XFdrake. # ********************************************************************** # Refer to the XF86Config man page for details about the format of # this file. # ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    9

    Here is the whole thing:

    Code:
    # File generated by XFdrake.
    
    # **********************************************************************
    # Refer to the XF86Config man page for details about the format of
    # this file.
    # **********************************************************************
    
    Section "Files"
        # Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
        # By default, Mandrake 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
        # the X server to render fonts.
        FontPath "unix/:-1"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        #DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> &#40;resolution switching&#41;
        #DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> &#40;server abort&#41;
        AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse doesn't work
    EndSection
    
    Section "Module"
        Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
        Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
        Load "extmod"
        Load "type1"
        Load "freetype"
        Load "glx" # 3D layer
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Keyboard1"
        Driver "Keyboard"
        Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option "XkbLayout" "en_US"
        Option "XkbOptions" ""
    EndSection
    
    Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Mouse1"
        Driver "mouse"
        Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
        Option "Device" "/dev/usbmouse"
        Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier "monitor1"
        VendorName "Plug'n Play"
        ModelName "Dell 1702FP &#40;Digital&#41;"
        HorizSync 30-80
        VertRefresh 56-76
    
        # Sony Vaio C1&#40;X,XS,VE,VN&#41;?
        # 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
        ModeLine "1024x480"    65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344   480  488  494  563 -hsync -vsync
    
        # TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
        # 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
        ModeLine "768x576"     50.00  768  832  846 1000   576  590  595  630
    
        # 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
        ModeLine "768x576"     63.07  768  800  960 1024   576  578  590  616
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier "device1"
        VendorName "NVidia"
        BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce4 &#40;generic&#41;"
        Driver "nvidia"
        Option "DPMS"
        Option "FlatPlanelProperties" "Scaling = aspect-scaled, Dithering = enabled"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier "screen1"
        Device "device1"
        Monitor "monitor1"
        DefaultColorDepth 24
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 8
            Virtual 1280 1024
        EndSubsection
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 15
            Virtual 1280 1024
        EndSubsection
        
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 16
            Virtual 1280 1024
        EndSubsection
    
        Subsection "Display"
            Depth 24
            Virtual 1280 1024
        EndSubsection
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier "layout1"
        Screen "screen1"
        InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
        InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    EndSection
    Edited by Dolda2000: Added `code' tags.

  2. #12
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    From your problem description, am I right if I guess that your monitor is a TFT monitor? In that case, the problem may very well be in the sync frequencies. Is it connected via the CRT or DVI connector? And most importantly, can you post the output of "xrandr" before and after you rectify it by starting the game, along with the video mode that your monitor specifies as "optimal" (IIRC, Dell TFT monitors will display the optimal mode in the OSD menu when you bring it up)?

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    9
    Hey. I think i figured out what the problem is. The refresh rate changes from 75, which is not the optimal rate, to 60 after i get out of the game. Unfortunatly I don't know how to change the refresh rate of the monitor from within Linux, is there an easy way to do this? Thanx so much for your help!

  4. #14
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    I almost thought so. When the display looks bad, try running "xrandr -r 60" and see if that fixes it. If it does, I'll give you a description of how to edit your XF86Config file to make it work automagically every time.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    9
    Yup, that does it. It makes everything appear much cleaner.

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    hey dolda, this xrandr command ive seen u refer to a few times doesnt work on my comp, it gives this

    Xlib: extension "RANDR" missing on display ":0.0".

    that doesnt look to me like its a graphics driver fault, but more from the xfree86-libs package.?

  7. #17
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Hellmasker: Many video drivers don't implement the RANDR extension. The reason that it appears to be an Xlib fault is because it is Xlib that prints the error the RANDR doesn't exist, not because there's an error in it. In fact, there's no error at all, it just happens not to be implemented in your driver. To see what extensions are supported, check xdpyinfo.

    Khordes: I don't remember exactly how to set the default VSync, but try this and see if it works. Edit your XF86Config file, the "Screen" section, and the "Display" subsection that has "Depth 24" in it, and add the following line inside it:
    Code:
    Modes "1280x1024@60"
    It is 1280x1024 that you run, isn't it? Like I said, I'm not completely certain that that's the right way to do it, but I think it is. Try it and see.

  8. #18
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    ive never had problems with it so this is untested but i thought that u chaneg the lines reading

    Hsync 31.6-112.5 (or whatever they say)
    Vsync 50-70

    so that the Vsync bit is just the numbr u want. eg. 60-60

    btw:dolda, i dont seem to have that xpdyinfo program.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •