Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Is it possible to install bluecurve (window theme) for Gnome AND KDE in other distros?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    bluecurve


    Is it possible to install bluecurve (window theme) for Gnome AND KDE in other distros?
    The best things in life are free.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    i dont see why not, u just have to find the files for it. (maybe at kde.org themes section)?

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Well, I've seen this done before (at Gentoo screenshots) and I was really interested if I can get it to work. I have a theme that I downloadede from art.gnome but it's a metacity package. Still, there must be a way to extract it put them in the right directory. Can anyone help me out?
    The best things in life are free.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Enthusiast scientica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South- or "Mid-" Sweden
    Posts
    742
    Quote Originally Posted by bpark
    I have a theme that I downloadede from art.gnome but it's a metacity package. Still, there must be a way to extract it put them in the right directory.
    It seems like the metacity themes are placed here:
    /usr/share/themes/
    (I'm on Fedora Core 1, updated from RH8.0)

    here is an excerpt
    Code:
    [frekla@ns1 tmp]$ locate metacity | grep theme
    /usr/bin/metacity-theme-viewer
    /usr/share/doc/metacity-2.6.3/theme-format.txt
    /usr/share/doc/metacity-2.6.3/metacity-theme.dtd
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/bottom_right.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/bottom_left.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/maximize.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/close.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/metacity-theme-1.xml
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/menu.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/white_stripes_tile.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/minimize.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/restore.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/title-blocker-bottom.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/title-blocker-left.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/title-blocker-right.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/title-gradient-bottom.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/top_left.png
    /usr/share/themes/Bluecurve/metacity-1/top_right.png
    ...
    btw I got metacity-2.6.3-1 installed (rpm), you got that package, right?
    Regards Scienitca (registered user #335819 - http://counter.li.org )
    --
    A master is nothing more than a student who knows something of which he can teach to other students.

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    Success

    I converted redhat-artwork.rpm to a deb using alien and it works. I feel retarded using the bluecurve icons because of that fedora icon replacing the KDE icon but it's nice when something works.

    http://www.dolda2000.com/~bpark/snapshot1.png
    http://www.dolda2000.com/~bpark/snapshot2.png
    The best things in life are free.

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    70
    Probably wouldnt be that hard to gimp the normal kde icon back onto the bluecurve background.

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    I could probably just copy the icon over to the right directory and rename it as well.
    The best things in life are free.

  9. #8
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319

    Bug

    I got a painfully annoying problem with this new window theme.

    The title bar color is now seeping into the minimize button and the right corners (both top and bottom) have a tiny dot on each corner. I suspect that there is a calibration error here.
    This next pic clearly describes what I am referring to:
    http://www.dolda2000.com/~bpark/snapshot3.png

    Before, it used to look like this:
    http:///www.dolda2000.com/~bpark/snapshot2.png

    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    The best things in life are free.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •