Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi Everyone, I am a newbie at Linux and am trying to install Red Hat Advanced Server. During the installation I was asked to choose a graphic card that my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wronly configured X-Windows on Red Hat AS

Hi Everyone,
    I am a newbie at Linux and am trying to install Red Hat Advanced Server.
    During the installation I was asked to choose a graphic card that my system was using, unfortunately it was not listed in the options, so I just chose one :AGX (generic). Oh well now I can't get any GUI
    I tried the "startx" command but it failed to bring up any GUI, I got some fatal error. So How do I reconfigure the X server? The GUI at install time looked beutiful so I can't understand why the system didn't ask me for the default it picked.

On a previous installation attempt I chose the most basic card (Unsupported VGA compatible), this did bring up the GUI but it was horrible.
    So having said so much, my question is how do I reconfigure my wrongly configured X system/server?

My machine doesn't have a PCI or AGP card I am using the inbuilt video card that is on the motherboard. It is a MSI motherboard (MS-6524) with SiS chipset (Sis961).

Use:

Code:
    redhat-config-display --reconfig
    from the command line.
    Linux user #126863 - see http://linuxcounter.net/

Just Joined!

command doesn't seem to work

I tried the command but it is not recognised. I am not using Red Hat 9 but REd Hat Advanced server.

Ahhh, could be me mixing it up with Fedora Core. It might be called:

Code:
    redhat-config-xfree86
    or
    Code:
    redhat-config-xorg
    You can always try:
    Code:
    redhat-config-<TAB>
    and press tab again if it doesn't auto-complete (then it'll give you all the options).

And dont forget the '--reconfig' switch

Just Joined!

Angry still not working