Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
i am using redhat linux 8.0 and i have no sound, how can i fix this? i have noticed that some people have a hardware (cpu i noticed) monitor on ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221

    Two questions... sound and cpu monitor


    i am using redhat linux 8.0 and i have no sound, how can i fix this?

    i have noticed that some people have a hardware (cpu i noticed) monitor on their desktop, where can i find this.... i am using kde 3?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    You should have an app called KSim which is a KDE's implementation of GKRELLM. Least I seem to remember it was !!!

    Dunno about sound, can you explain more?
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    i dont seem to have KSIM, where can i get it?

    also there isn't really anything to explain, i just dont have ANY sound

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    ksim and gkrellm should both be on ur distro cd's

    for the sound thing can u tell us what card it is, then post the ouput of lspci and the contents of /etc/modules.conf

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    can these program,s be run by typing the name into the 'run program' dialog in the KDE menu? do i use lspci through the terminal?

    i will post my sound card name and contents of etc/modules.conf later

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Farnborough, UK
    Posts
    1,305
    not sure about ksim but just type gkrellm.
    Lansbury's Lido

    thekiadriver on #linuxforums - fleetingly

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    how can i then get this program to start upon startup?

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Swansea (UK)
    Posts
    221
    Contents of etc/modules.conf:

    alias parport_lowlevel parport_pc
    alias usb-controller usb-ohci
    alias usb-controller1 ehci-hcd
    alias ieee1394-controller ohci1394
    alias eth0 CDC Ethernet Class

    Sound card name:

    Realtek ALC650 6CH. Integrated APU SoundStorm/Dolby Digital AC3 encoder

    Result of lspci:

    00:00.0 Host bridge: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 01e0 (rev a2)
    00:00.1 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 01eb (rev a2)
    00:00.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 01ee (rev a2)
    00:00.3 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 01ed (rev a2)
    00:00.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 01ec (rev a2)
    00:00.5 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 01ef (rev a2)
    00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0060 (rev a3)
    00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0064 (rev a2)
    00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0067 (rev a3)
    00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0067 (rev a3)
    00:02.2 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0068 (rev a3)
    00:04.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0066 (rev a1)
    00:05.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 006b (rev a2)
    00:06.0 Multimedia audio controller: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 006a (rev a1)
    00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 006c (rev a3)
    00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 0065 (rev a2)
    00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 006d (rev a3)
    00:0d.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 006e (rev a3)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation: Unknown device 01e8 (rev a2)
    01:07.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX] (rev b2)
    01:0b.0 RAID bus controller: CMD Technology Inc: Unknown device 3112 (rev 02)
    02:01.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation: Unknown device 9201 (rev 40)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •