Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
how do I mount a floppy for example with just 1 command? just say that when i type "/floppy", it will execute "mount/dev/fd0" with ext2 file system? thanks in advance....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    7

    mounting something with 1 command?


    how do I mount a floppy for example with just 1 command? just say that when i type "/floppy", it will execute "mount/dev/fd0" with ext2 file system?

    thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    You could create an alias in bash. See "help alias" for more info.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Lebanon, pa
    Posts
    994
    Add an entry in your fstab then you can just type
    Code:
    mount /floppy

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Posts
    37

    Re: mounting something with 1 command?

    Both Dolda2000's and genlee's suggestions are good. Usually the best way _is_ to put it in your /etc/fstab
    You could also create a small script if you switch floppies often. I guess something like:

    umount /mnt/floppy
    mount /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy

    and save it to /bin/floppy so you just type "floppy" and any new disk is mounted.

  6. #5
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    In that case I would still suggest an alias or shell function, though.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •