Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Is it hard to switch desktop enviroment to lightweight gui in debian? In slackware its pretty easy, just run a config Have searched a little for some how to's but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    19

    Question Switching desktop enviroment


    Is it hard to switch desktop enviroment to lightweight gui in debian?
    In slackware its pretty easy, just run a config

    Have searched a little for some how to's but havent really find any good yet.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    947
    I dont understand what you mean, but you could always do this;
    Code:
    apt-get install fluxbox
    apt-get install xfce4
    apt-get install blackbox
    Then log out back into the GDM login screen, click sessions, then try each of the above.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Javasnob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    942
    Also, if you don't use a display manager, modify your .xinitrc file appropriately.
    Flies of a particular kind, i.e. time-flies, are fond of an arrow.

    Registered Linux User #408794

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    19
    Thanks AdrewB
    But should I not take away any package from my desktop enviroment that I have right now if I concider too have one of those more in my dayli use?

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by Javasnob
    Also, if you don't use a display manager, modify your .xinitrc file appropriately.
    That sounds pretty difficult read that others do use vi or vim to edit something is it that I have to edit in vim?

  6. #6
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Use nano, pico, or some other text editor if you don't want to use vim. Nano is a popular one and it's easy to use.
    oz

  7. #7
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by cyclister
    Thanks AdrewB
    But should I not take away any package from my desktop enviroment that I have right now if I concider too have one of those more in my dayli use?
    Not sure exactly what you mean, you don't have to uninstall anything, I have around 6 desktop environments/gui's installed, and you can easily get rid of one if you don't like it. Also, you can still use all of your programs, these are usually unaffected by the DE.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •