Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi. I am a Windows veteran which is recently migrated to GNU/Linux! I want to suggest some things which I think can gets the linux, and also other platforms, better! ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Proposals for linux environment

Hi.
    I am a Windows veteran which is recently migrated to GNU/Linux!
    I want to suggest some things which I think can gets the linux, and also other platforms, better! But my love is Free Software which in my opinion deserts my full considerations.

Before any other discussing I want to say that I impressed by gnu/linux structure, facilities, applications, KDE ... konqueror ...,capabilities, flexibility, security robustness, configuration & customization extent, powerfull shell realy utilizable as a system and administrative programming facility, etc.! anyway I am yet new to linux...

But i have several ideas already which imho are worth mentioning for my love.
    I would glad to see this topic as a place for not my few little ideas only, but a place for discussing other users ideas and requests from FS community.

Ok, now my proposals:

- I think it is a realy good facility (esp. for progarmmers) to be able to copy contents of plain text files straightforwardly via a context menu option.
    Many times we want just to copy entire (or majority of) contents of a text file, but we have to open it in a text editor first, and probably closing it immediately after doing so.
    I think It is popular enough for implementing as a default feature in GUI.
    opening a text file in an editor also has the possibility of changing its contents unintentionally and copying unequal contents than disk contents.

- another desire is existent of a refresh button in editors toolbar!
    all text editors I have ever seen have not such facility.
    In my point of view it is wondering! whats the reason for lacking this feature?