Find the answer to your Linux question:
Ive been using FC 5 for many many months now without any problems. But today i came home and my mouse cursor was gone. Using CNT + ALT + DEL ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Gnome freezes at splash screen

Ive been using FC 5 for many many months now without any problems. But today i came home and my mouse cursor was gone. Using CNT + ALT + DEL I attempted to log out but the system froze and I ended up hitting the reset button.
    Upon rebooting when I tried logging in with my user account I get to the point were the gnome splash appears then it disapears and Im left with a blue screen and a mouse cursor (it does move) and then nothing happens.
    I can log in as root with gnome and I can log in to my user account with gnome failsafe or an other window manager.
    On checking the logs, for rhe failed logins these are the last two lines
    Code:
    audit(1158382650.804:68): avc: denied { use } for pid=2507 comm="bluez-pin" ...
    audit(1158382650.804:69): avc: denied { write } for pid=2507 comm="bluez-pin" ...
    and on all successful logins these two lines are procceded with
    Code:
    audit(1158383596.535:83): avc: granted { execstack } for pid=3277 comm="metacity" ...
    audit(1158383596.535:84): avc: granted { execmem } for pid=3277 comm="metacity" ...
    The first two ines still show as denied but follow these second two and then continue on with many mmore similar lines for other apps such as nautilus, gnome-background, etc
    Now I suspect there is a corupted config file some were but where or how to fix it is beyond me.
    Any help would be great
    Michael

Just Joined!
    Howdy,