Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi fans Firstly, I have to apologize stealing your time with this -most probably- stupid issue. I have to admit that I spend half-night yesterday and the full day today ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    Stupid problem with execution of WindowMaker


    Hi fans
    Firstly, I have to apologize stealing your time with this -most
    probably- stupid issue.
    I have to admit that I spend half-night yesterday and the full day today
    reading docs and forums.

    The Problem: By using Suse 10.1 GNOME it was very easy to install WM
    via Yast. However, after that I got lost (I am not much familiar
    with linux, however know many assembler, Cob, Pasc, For etc).
    What should I do after having installed this tool? Executing it as
    "wmaker" did not help.

    I followed the instructions published under "Downloading and Extracting"
    skipped the lines concerning download, make, make install because of
    Yast did that for me.
    I then followed the steps described in FAQ 2.3 How do I switch CDE's
    windows ......
    --> here I had to create .dtprofile because it didn't exist (/home/walt/)
    --> tried both methods, whereas in method 2 the file "Xdefaults" was not
    existent.

    Here is, what I got (apart of all the libraries):
    linux-mxsp:/etc/X11 # cd WindowMaker
    linux-mxsp:/etc/X11/WindowMaker # dir
    insgesamt 24
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 674 2006-05-02 12:13 SuSE_wmapps
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3982 2006-05-02 09:57 WindowMaker
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 213 2006-05-02 09:57 WMGLOBAL
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3023 2006-05-02 09:57 WMRootMenu
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 970 2006-05-02 09:57 WMState
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root root 2813 2006-05-02 09:57 WMWindowAttributes

    Now, poor me, what do I do now? Maybe, there is an installation GUI for
    dummies like me around, or I misintrepreted something.

    As soon, as I get WM startet, I am on my feet.

    Hope, anybody can help be and bring light into the darkness.

    Thanks, walt

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer psic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    1,205
    Just a thought, many distributions include newly installed window managers in a menu in the login manager, KDM or in your case GDM. Before loging on, look for a 'session' menu.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for the reply, psic. Unfortuately it didn't help.
    I know de-installed all windowmaker stuff and doenloaded the latest version as .gz.
    Everything went smooth, incl. unzip, config, make, make install.

    Now, the installation help says: "Every user on your system that wishes to run WindowMaker must do the following:
    1. Install WindowMaker configuration files in your home directory.
    Type: wmaker.inst
    ***** end of quote *****
    The trouble ist: I cannot find any "wmaker" on my system. Thought it got renamed, but was unlucky by trying others.

    I am pretty lost and am very grateful for any tip. Thanks and cheers, walt

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    WindowMaker installation on Suse10.1 / Gnome

    Has anybody a sure way to install WindowMaker 0.92 on a Suse 10.1 installation. I have tried every possible way recommended in windowmaker.doc, foren (english + german). I did reinstall and compile it (see above). Nothing helped.

    In most cases "wmaker" cannot be found (even not by searching the whole system). I always had the opinion, if one installs an rpm you will get an icon somewhere to start it.

    I wanna get this tool working - but now my nerves tremble.

    Please, there must be a working script around which even makes the install for a novice possible.

    Many thanks, super regards and cheers, walt

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    Got it

    Psic was right. I just couldn't find the login, because this is not visible if you run just one user - which goes straight through the login process. Easiest way for beginners is probably to assign at least two users and translate to bottom selections of the login with a lot of phantasie. But it works.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •