Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Hi all- I'm running FC4 on Averatec 3250 laptop (1.67 GHz AMD Athlon XP-M, 1 GB RAM) I'd been having some problems with vi and aterm cooperating...so I updated both, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    40

    Aterm not reading ~/.Xdefaults after update


    Hi all-
    I'm running FC4 on Averatec 3250 laptop (1.67 GHz AMD Athlon XP-M, 1 GB RAM)
    I'd been having some problems with vi and aterm cooperating...so I updated both, which went fine...it corrected the problem, but after updating aterm, when I want to open up an rxvt terminal, aterm doesn't read my ~/.Xdefaults anymore, so my configuration is not used...

    calling aterm with the appropriate command-line options still works, but anyone have any ideas why it would stop reading my defaults?

    aterm is aterm-0.4.2-1.2.fc4.rf
    and my .Xdefaults reads:

    Aterm*scrollBar:true
    Aterm*scrollBar_right:true
    Aterm*transpscrollbar:true
    Aterm*loginShell:true
    Aterm*transparent:true
    Aterm*colorMode:true
    Aterm*tintingType:true
    Aterm*shading:40
    Aterm*fading:50
    Aterm*title:Terminal
    Aterm*iconName:Terminal
    Aterm*font:-misc-fixed-medium-r-normal-*-14-*-*-*-c-*-iso8859-15
    Aterm*geometry:100x40
    Aterm*background:Black
    Aterm*foreground:White
    Aterm*saveLines:32767

    EDIT: oddly enough, if I enter 'aterm' in the CLI of the non-configured aterm, a new aterm pops up that is correctly reading the .Xdefaults file (!) what is going on?

    EDIT: xrdb -merge .Xdefaults has no effect



    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated...thanks!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Javasnob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    942
    Did you try xrdb merge ~/.Xdefaults?
    Flies of a particular kind, i.e. time-flies, are fond of an arrow.

    Registered Linux User #408794

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    40
    yeah, see EDIT #2 above...all it does is change my default white font to black...

    any ideas?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Javasnob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    942
    What window manager are you using?
    Flies of a particular kind, i.e. time-flies, are fond of an arrow.

    Registered Linux User #408794

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    40
    KDE 3.5 with Xorg X 7.0

    any suggestions?

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    40
    well,never figured out why .Xdefaults is not being read...

    for now, just specified all my aterm preferences as options on the command-line when calling aterm.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Panama
    Posts
    20
    IIRC, KDE erases the .Xdefaults every time you re-enter the X environment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •