Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
My boot screen has not liked me for a couple days now. What I mean by this is that when loading FC6, the boot screen that I put in my ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31

    My boot screen wont Show up?! :)


    My boot screen has not liked me for a couple days now. What I mean by this is that when loading FC6, the boot screen that I put in my username/PW does not show up...BUT, I can still put in the username and password, blindly. Any reasons why this might have happened, things I can do to fix it?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Check your kdm or gdm themes and settings
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31
    how exactly do I do that?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    For gdm:

    su
    gdmsetup

    For kdm:
    Look in KDE control center
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31
    ok, I did check out my settings and I re-selected the boot screen and logged off, but still no boot screen . I did recently make changes to the x11 conf., but erased all the changes I made after. Would that have done anything? Thanks for your help so far

  7. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    what did you change in xorg.conf file?



    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31
    well I did add this:
    Section "Module"
    Load "glx"
    Load "dri"
    Load "extmod"
    EndSection

    and

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    Option "UseEDID" "FALSE"
    Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "TRUE"
    EndSection

    Erased that and this is what my xorg.conf looks like now:


    # Xorg configuration created by system-config-display

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "single head configuration"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "vesa"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Videocard0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    Option "Composite"
    EndSection

    Section "DRI"
    Group 0
    Mode 0666
    EndSection

    Anything stand out as odd to anyone? Should I add something to fix my problem?

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Videocard0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Viewport 0 0
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    where is Modes ( resolutions ) Line?

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
                Identifier "Screen0"
                Device "Videocard0"
                DefaultDepth 24
                SubSection "Display"
                          Viewport 0 0
                          Depth 24
                          Modes		"1024x768" "800x600" "640x480" 
                 EndSubSection
    EndSection




    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    31
    Aha, that fixed it alright, thanks so much for the help!!

  11. #10
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    you are Welcome cfairchild !! i am glad it worked !





    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •