Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Yo, I am new to linux. I got to playing around with /usr/X11R6/bin/xf86config trying to change my screen resolution, and now when I type "kdm" at startup, I don't get ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Can't get GUI when I try to load "kdm" at startup.

Yo,

I am new to linux. I got to playing around with /usr/X11R6/bin/xf86config trying to change my screen resolution, and now when I type "kdm" at startup, I don't get any GUI. I went back and changed some stuff in the xf86config file and I managed to get it to where the monitor will "flip" or "flicker" over, like it is about to load the GUI, but it always just flickers back to the "startup" screen.

When I say startup screen, I mean the "root@darkstar" prompt you get where you would normally type "kdm" and go from there.

Can someone help me edit this file so I can get my GUI back? I don't know what settings I am choosing that it doesn't like but I think it may be the refresh rates or something.

I am using a Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 15FS monitor and running a 128MB ATI RADEON 9200SE video card, if that helps any.

Well, thanks for any help you can provide. I just hope I won't have to go as far as reinstalling slackware and losing all my data just to fix this problem...

What is in your /var/log/XFree86.log? Look in there for a clue to the errors as well as /var/log/messages. You could try running xf86config, there is access to the vcard db there. You will need to know the refresh rates for your monitor.
    Google for them or check the mfg. website.
    Me & Myself just ganged up on I....... Now We all have problems..and none of Us are speaking!
    bash-3.00$ uname -a
    SunOS sparky 5.11 OpenSolaris-swa sun4u sparc SUNW,Ultra-Enterprise

Just Joined!
    Yeah man, I did all of those things. I've ran xf86config, xf86cfg, XFree86 -configure, and XFree86Setup.