Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
how to make windows in gnome transparent?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549

    gnome transparency


    how to make windows in gnome transparent?

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer Javasnob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    942
    I'm not sure if gnome has this feature built in; either way, you'll need to enable the Composite extension in your xorg.conf file. I recommend looking into XGL/AIGlX for best results; otherwise you'll pretty much have to resort to using xcompmgr.
    Flies of a particular kind, i.e. time-flies, are fond of an arrow.

    Registered Linux User #408794

  3. #3
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    You can make the terminal background transparent: Go to Edit > Current Profile... > Effects

    If you want all windows, which I assume you do, take Javasnob's suggestion.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    If Desktop Effects are configured properly in FC6, you can hold down ALT and use the scroll wheel on your mouse to increase/decrease transparency in your windows.

  5. #5
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    How to install xgl using yumex?what repos do i need?

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Thrillhouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Arlington, VA, USA
    Posts
    1,377
    You'll want to use AIGLX as Fedora has incorporated that instead of XGL. To get the appropriate packages you can:
    Code:
    $yum --enablerepo=aiglx update
    Then follow these instructions to get everything set up properly. I would also recommend reading this just to familiarize yourself with it a little more.

  7. #7
    Just Joined! prateek_darkangel's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Noida, U.P,India
    Posts
    52

    Fedora Core 5

    hi

    Is AIGLX only available for FC6 or can FC5 also use these effects that come along with XGL/AIGLX??

    Thanks..

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by prateek_darkangel
    Is AIGLX only available for FC6 or can FC5 also use these effects that come along with XGL/AIGLX??
    AIGLX is available for FC5 too. check the link posted by Thrillhouse.








    casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Compiz is installed by default no? You may not need to install it.

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  10. #10
    Banned jan1024188's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    EU, SLOVENIA
    Posts
    1,549
    [root@localhost jan]# yum --enablerepo=aiglx update
    Loading "installonlyn" plugin


    Error getting repository data for aiglx, repository not found
    [root@localhost jan]#
    i got this error message

    Nothing happens if i press alt + scorl down

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •