Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
today i have spent (more like wasted) some time installing a version of redhat (5.1) onto my sharp pc8700 laptop, witch has a i486 processor with 12mb of ram. The ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152

    "startx" won't work


    today i have spent (more like wasted) some time installing a version of redhat (5.1) onto my sharp pc8700 laptop, witch has a i486 processor with 12mb of ram.
    The laptop has no cdrom drive and the 800mb hdd won't hold installation and cd 1 at same time, so that kills off installing from a hdd.
    my only option was to migrate my laptop's hdd to a desktop with a cdrom drive.
    all worked fine, install etc... it even booted without trouble.
    i knew i would have to reconfigure X for the laptop's video card (a western digital card with a wd90c24a chip), even after reconfiguring X, it still tryed to user the old s3 server
    any help would be much appreciated, i would also like to use my pcmcia mem cards with linux, but they are not seen, does this daemon start with X or something?
    if not how do i get them to work?
    again help would be much appreciated.
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Well, do you really want to install X on such old hardware? Will it even run on 12MB?
    The best things in life are free.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    766
    it has a WD graphics chip???

    i didnt knwo they made such things, which doesnt mean there is no driver for it but it probably means it wont be installed by default.

    you need to chaneg the driver name is XF86Config

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    to answer your questions, i have looked on western digital's site and found nothing, i have also looked on other driver sites and also found nothing.
    by the way i took account of small ram size by giving it a 64mb swap.
    it should run x because it ran M$' win 95 no prob.
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Upgrading to 64MB is probably a better idea. I'm still not sure how fast X can run but nontheless, 32MB is .. just no good.

    WD graphics chip ... I too am surprised that they even have such things. Unless you can find a driver for that, my guess would be that you won't be able to use X on that computer.
    The best things in life are free.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    i found out that x will run, i typed xdm at the command line and x started ok. i just need to know how to get it to use the server i installed manualy.
    i also tryed running the server i installed and it runs fine.
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

  8. #7
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Can you check for a line like
    Code:
    # The default runlevel.
    id:2:initdefault:
    inside your /etc/inittab? Also, what distro are you running?
    The best things in life are free.

  9. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    i am running redhat 5.1 on the system, as for that line, it reads id:3:initdefault:
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

  10. #9
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Queens, NY
    Posts
    1,319
    Change the 3 to a 5. You should now boot into xdm everytime.
    The best things in life are free.

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Looe, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    152
    i have tryed init 5 and x won't load it continues to try to use the S3V server and the res is too big, it HUGE!!!!! the taskbar is about 1.5cm tall how do i adjust the res?
    Cry out for freedom! Cry out for Linux!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •