Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Anyone know how to set up something so that i can access my Linux PC (Mandrake 10 Community) over the web on any PC. My dad using a similar idea, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363

    Remote Access Over WWW


    Anyone know how to set up something so that i can access my Linux PC (Mandrake 10 Community) over the web on any PC. My dad using a similar idea, but access Windows w/ Windows. I want to be able to access Linux w/ Windows, Linux, or Mac. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    130
    Making it available over SSH/Telnet is a peace of cake.
    Just set up an SSH server and then use an SSH-client from anywhere.

    You can tunnel the Xserver as well, so you can get graphics sent over
    (but then you have to have a Xserver running on the remote box you are logging in from)

    /ooop

  3. #3
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    3,284
    VNC can do as you require if you require a GUI, there is a tutorial available in the tutorials section. vnc can be downloaded from www.realvnc.com

    Alternativly you can use SSH as someone suggested for command line access, and use a windows tool called putty to access the box.

    Jason

  4. #4
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    i have successfully installed realvnc, but when ever i connect to my linux machine all i get is a gray screen, any ideas. i already added the kde line to xstartup.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    35
    Quote Originally Posted by fatjesusweed
    i have successfully installed realvnc, but when ever i connect to my linux machine all i get is a gray screen, any ideas. i already added the kde line to xstartup.
    which version are you using?

    I recently installed the newest version at RealVNC's site, and just set everyhting up and was only getting the CLI in one window floating over a grey background.

    The xstartup was set up this way:

    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    # Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
    #unset SESSION_MANAGER
    #exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
    
    [ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
    [ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
    xsetroot -solid grey
    vncconfig -iconic &
    xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
    gnome-session &
    And I had to remove the # from unset SESSION_MANAGER & exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

    After I did that I was able to get into xwindows with no issues.

  6. #6
    Linux User Muser's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    363
    ya i have the latest version, but don't have those 2 lines, should i add them?

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    1

    Re: Remote Access Over WWW

    Quote Originally Posted by fatjesusweed
    Anyone know how to set up something so that i can access my Linux PC (Mandrake 10 Community) over the web on any PC. My dad using a similar idea, but access Windows w/ Windows. I want to be able to access Linux w/ Windows, Linux, or Mac. Any ideas?
    Maybe you should try NX from NoMachine. It offers a wide range of clients for Linux, Windows andMAC OS. You can then purchase a Personal Edition (very cheap) and bingo you get remote access to your desktop. I use it to get onto my computer at home when I'm at the University. You can use any network, performance is brilliant.
    [/url]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •