Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
Ok I'm completely new to Linux... Tried installing Mandrake - no luck, installer hangs up, hardware incompatiblity apparently. Tried installing Red Hat - ok, it installs but no GUI! Try ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3

    Newbie alert! Can't get StartX to work!


    Ok I'm completely new to Linux... Tried installing Mandrake - no luck, installer hangs up, hardware incompatiblity apparently.

    Tried installing Red Hat - ok, it installs but no GUI! Try typing StartX but it tells me:

    Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
    VESA(0) No matching modes
    Screen(s) found, but none have usable configuration

    Fatal server error:
    no screens found

    Ok so I try running in root Xf86config - it asks me what monitor type I have - none match so I try the most conservative option then it asks for my video chipset etc- again it's not on the list (I have a SiS 740), fill in the rest of the details as best I can but StartX is still not working - any ideas?

  2. #2
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Again, as root, try running "X -configure", then try that configuration with "X -xf86config XF86Config.new". If it works (a pseudo-grey screen with an X cursor; type CTRL+ALT+Backspace to exit), overwrite the default config file with the new one; run "cp XF86Config.new /etc/X11/XF86Config".

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3
    Now, I'm not sure what any of that means but I did try the "X - configure" thing first and the result was this:

    > Fatal Server error:
    > XFree86 has found a valid card configuration. Unfortunately the
    > appropriate data has not been added to xf86Pcinfo.h
    > Please forward 'scanpci -v' output to XFree86 support team

    Naturally I don't have a clue how to go about doing that! I've tried various monitor combinations/resolutions/frequencies with xf86config etc but still no luck.

    Any thoughts?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Could you give me the output of "lspci -n"?

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Posts
    3
    Er, nope, havn't a clue how to do that, sorry!

    Someone on another forum told me to type "redhat-config-xfree86" and that got it working!

    Thanks anyway

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Madison, WI.
    Posts
    36
    LOL...good try though Dolda

  8. #7
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Yeah, wasn't it? =)
    I'd never have guessed that redhat's configuration tool was more capable than XFree86 itself... quite curious.

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27
    Well, I have a problem that is a continuation of this, so instead of creating a new thread, I'll just stick my post here.

    Ok, I have the same problem as Blackjack. Just got RH 9 on a dell laptop with a rage mobility 128 video card. Install was fine, except for X. I get the 'no screens found' error. I did a 'X -configure', it told me to test it with 'XFree86 -xf86config /root/XF86config.new' which I did and got the same error. I also did what Blackjack did, that is, 'redhat-config-xfree86' and get this:

    * ddcprobe returned bogus values:
    ID: None
    Name: None
    HorizSync: None
    VertSync: None
    it tries again with a 'fresh configuration' but no marbles

    any help would be great.

  10. #9
    Linux Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Täby, Sweden
    Posts
    7,578
    Do the XFree86 -configure and -xf86config again, and tell us all the errors (which you can get from /var/log/XFree86.0.log).

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    27
    i get these warnings/errors

    .
    .
    .
    (WW) R128(0): Mode pool is empty
    (EE) R128(0): No valid modes found
    .
    .
    .
    (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

    Fatal server error:
    no screens found
    There's a bunch of statements with (II) before them in between
    the two (EE) statements, let me know if you need to see them

    hope this helps

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •