Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
I cannot connect via 56k dialup with KPPP. My modem is recognized in the ttys0 i believe, and its a U.S. Robotics v.90. I set the dns servers correctly, phone ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209

    KPPP dialup problems


    I cannot connect via 56k dialup with KPPP. My modem is recognized in the ttys0 i believe, and its a U.S. Robotics v.90. I set the dns servers correctly, phone #, and user/pass. It freezes when it hits the initializing modem part and i cant hear it dial at all. any ideas? thanks.
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209
    sry i just realized that theres a linux applications topic to post this under, my bad! feel free to move it, mod
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

  3. #3
    don
    don is offline
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    101
    did u try modem diagnostics in the kppp setup.. the ttyS0 could just be a default setting. just check if it can query modem correctly
    I\'m just a simple fisherman blessed with a lot of friends

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    internal or external modem?

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209
    the query works. it's an internal modem.
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

  7. #6
    Linux Engineer Nerderello's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    North East England
    Posts
    1,190
    make sure that the modem drivers are installed (lsmod for a list of modules), and check out the Linmodem stuff.

    have fun

    Nerderello

    Use Suse 10.1 and occasionally play with Kubuntu
    Also have Windows 98SE and BeOS

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie harner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    PA, USA
    Posts
    209
    i did an lsmod and didnt see anything about my modem. how can i install the driver for it? linmodems didnt help me out at all. i have a U.S. Robitics 56k Voice Host Internal modem. any suggestions?
    I praise Webmin and PuTTy!
    Registered Linux User: 439431

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •