Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Okay, so I have X and Enlightenment DR16 as my desktop thing and I don't have a Xorg.conf and X just uses the defaults I guess or whatever. So it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57

    Setting resolution with default X


    Okay, so I have X and Enlightenment DR16 as my desktop thing and I don't have a Xorg.conf and X just uses the defaults I guess or whatever. So it works fine without the Xorg.conf even though I hear many people configure the file and use it, but I think it's too complicated and it's working fine for me now anyway. But now I want to set a certain resolution to my defaults right now. Is there a way I can just set a certain resolution without having to create a Xorg.conf and going through the trouble of configuring the stuff?

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    //europe/serbia
    Posts
    5
    Greetings mighty Sentralorigin.
    I 'just joined' to. Can you help me with samething, please? I don't now how to post a new thread...

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57
    Erm...Near the top left of the forum there should be a button image that says "New Thread"...just click on that...

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    //europe/serbia
    Posts
    5
    I was on wrong page. I just search this site looking at the top left side... and find the magic button. Thanks a lot. You are my hero...

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57
    So this is the very last section in my /etc/X11/xorg.conf:

    Code:
    Section "Screen"
            Identifier "Screen0"
            Device     "Card0"
            Monitor    "Monitor0"
           DefaultDepth  24
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     1
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     4
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     8
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     15
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     16
            EndSubSection
            SubSection "Display"
                    Viewport   0 0
                    Depth     24
                   Modes     "1024x768"
            EndSubSection

    I did X -configure and the 2 lines in BOLD are the lines are added to the already default config.
    Did I put this correctly for 1024x768 resolution? And if I want 1280x900 I can just replace the number Mode?

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    If you want a different resolution just change it to the one you want, if you want to test with various resolution. Add all them in the same Mode line separated by spaces
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57
    What about the DefaultDepth?

  9. #8
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    It depends what you want, the color depth have some resolution that can be used with that specific color depth. Not all monitor can do their highest resolution with their highest color depth.

    Be aware that 24 bits is in fact 32 bits in Windows 'words', because Linux omits the 8 gray scale bits, hence 16 bit is in fact 24 in Windows 'words'
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    57
    Thank you Juan Pablo

    How can I tell how much max resolution my monitor can go up to?

  11. #10
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Test it, or just look in the manual
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •