Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi, I've been googling for this for a while, but I couldn't find a real explanation about this idea. Basically, I have FreeBSD 9 with Lighttpd installed as a virtual ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Question A BSD VirtualBox Server on Win7 Host

Hi,
    I've been googling for this for a while, but I couldn't find a real explanation about this idea.

Basically, I have FreeBSD 9 with Lighttpd installed as a virtual machine. I want to set it up in a way that I can reach it from a browser within the Windows host.

I don't know much about Windows in this positions (I have no experience on **nix OS'es in this case too). I can't switch to a Linux host because virtualbox messes up my kernel whenever I install it.

Keeping it short, I need help on the idea explained in the second paragraph. I'd be thankful for any help.

Linux Engineer
    The easiest way is to have adapter type set to Bridge on your virtual box VM in the NIC settings. If you are getting IP assigned automatically, then you will get an IP in the same subnet as your windows host. Then, just type in the IP of your VM in the web browser.

Just Joined!
    Thank you mizzle, for your answer. But that didn't work.
    Have done the VM setting, messed up the FreeBSD internet. It can't connect now. As I dont have a gui, I have to do it the csh way, but I have no experience with that kind of internet configuration. So, how can I bring internet back to my guest?

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Linux Engineer
    Change it back to NAT?

Just Joined!
    Yes, that is a way, but, I have installed it for the thing I'm trying to do in my first post. So if I can't do a server as I specified, it means nothing to have that wm, right?

Linux Engineer