Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello, this is my first time here. I've been using Linux constantly for about a month now and I've grown to dislike the newbie distros. I really enjoy Slack because ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

I can't get any BSD to work

Hello, this is my first time here.

I've been using Linux constantly for about a month now and I've grown to dislike the newbie distros. I really enjoy Slack because it gives me a challenge but I really kind of wanted to try out a BSD.

I've installed both FreeBSD and NetBSD with the same results. What happens is say I install something like SuSE and grow tired of it, I decide to install NetBSD everything works just fine but when I boot up the computer it still tries to shoot me into a SuSE bootloader. I choose "Linux" for my option (thinking the label didn't change or something, hoping for the best) and it naturally gives me a kernel panic.

NetBSD is there yet it will not boot to it. I have told Net and Free in both installs to write over the MBR so I don't know what's going on. It's starting to really get me angry now, I have never used Unix before so could this only be a command line for a BSD? I thought FreeBSD had a desktop though... Could someone explain why this isn't working correctly? Thanks for any help, I hope I will meet some pros to Linux and make some friends along the way.
    Registered Linux user #393103

Linux Engineer
    I'm not familiar with NetBSD, so I'll ask about Free. What option did you select when it asked about the bootloader in the install?

Ack, I can't remember. I'll try to muster up enough patience and try the install again tonight. I'll be back to tell you what I choose. With Free .. eh I believe I chose the MBR but I could be wrong.