Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I'm not exactly a computer scientist but I like to think that for a 17 year old I am relatively computer proficient. I have some basic experiences with operating systems ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Difference between Mac os ten and BSD

I'm not exactly a computer scientist but I like to think that for a 17 year old I am relatively computer proficient.

I have some basic experiences with operating systems like Debian and Freebsd. I have a pretty good understanding of operating systems like Mac os ten and Windows.

So I guess this question goes to all of the hardcore guru's out there: What are the major differences and similitarities of the Mac os ten kernel and the freebsd kernel ?

Just Joined!
    Hm, how to start? Hm...
    Okay:

First of all, no matter who told you that, Debian is not an OS!Dont forget that, Linux is, Debian is not!

So, right to the point:

The Mac OS is more like a graphical interface for the Darwin BSD under it, just like the X, but the Darwin is Apple's software (have a very strange license that is not that free), the basic is that, so, is just like FreeBSD, but with their diferent goals, Mac looks for user friendly GUI, freeBSD looks for stability and security...
    Lots of differences, but not that different :P

But remember that: Debian is not an OS

I know I was not that clear, sorry, hope you get a better answer :P

Linux Engineer
    Debian is not an OS!
    Yes, Debian is an OS. Linux is just the core parts of the OS, the OS alltogether is called Debian. You won't get that long with just the kernel...

Linux Newbie
    Actually, the Linux Kernel is an OS,

Things like widows xp, fedora, debian etc are OEs (Operating Enviroment). But every1 calls them OS anyway.
    On a side note, Im downloading Freebsd at the mo!

I disagree, I say Debian is an operating system.
    A OS is more than just a kernel.