Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
hi all, just tried freeSBIE 1.1 live cd, its based on freeBSD 5 apparently and its really dam good, bbut had just one problem, i need the password and such ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User cayalee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    england
    Posts
    389

    bit of a n00b question regarding live cd's and printing


    hi all, just tried freeSBIE 1.1 live cd, its based on freeBSD 5 apparently and its really dam good, bbut had just one problem, i need the password and such to install a printer via the http://localhost:631 cups setup thingy...
    its not in the manual and i think im probably just being a div but im really stuck as i cant remeber setting up any passwords.
    any help would be brilliant
    You know, aliens are going to come to earth in 50 years and kill the hell out of us for DDoSing their networks with this SETI crap
    registered linux user #388463

  2. #2
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    352
    Hmm, from my experience with a few Live CDs, when it asked me for a root password, I just tried typing in root and it worked. You could try that, but I've never tried the distro you're using, so I'm not too sure. I'm sure there should be something about that on the site you got it from or the distro's official site...

  3. #3
    Banned Richard_The_Lionhearted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Here, where else?
    Posts
    379
    Let me see if I can help.................

    FreeSBIE uses the powerful CUPS to give you the best printing experience. To enable cups you have to open a terminal and start the CUPS daemon with the following command:
    sh /usr/local/etc/rc.d/cups.sh.sample start

    Now, you can configure CUPS with a web browser using this URL:
    http://localhost:631

    If you wish to enable CUPS at boot time, you have to do:
    mv /usr/local/etc/rc.d/cups.sh.sample /usr/local/etc/rc.d/cups.sh
    chmod 755 /usr/local/etc/rc.d/cups.sh


    and then save your settings with the following command:
    /scripts/save_settings.sh

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    826
    On many live CDs you can use sudo passwd to change the password. They usually don't have a password set by default, so this will create a new one. Some live CDs use "root" or "toor" or an empty string as the root password also. Good luck with that.

  5. #5
    Linux User cayalee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    england
    Posts
    389
    Quote Originally Posted by Richard_The_Lionhearted
    Let me see if I can help.................

    FreeSBIE uses the powerful CUPS to give you the best printing experience. To enable cups you have to open a terminal and start the CUPS daemon with the following command:
    sh /usr/local/etc/rc.d/cups.sh.sample start

    Now, you can configure CUPS with a web browser using this URL:
    http://localhost:631

    If you wish to enable CUPS at boot time, you have to do:
    mv /usr/local/etc/rc.d/cups.sh.sample /usr/local/etc/rc.d/cups.sh
    chmod 755 /usr/local/etc/rc.d/cups.sh


    and then save your settings with the following command:
    /scripts/save_settings.sh
    yeah already done that, when i do it it asks me for the password.
    will give them words a try, cheers
    You know, aliens are going to come to earth in 50 years and kill the hell out of us for DDoSing their networks with this SETI crap
    registered linux user #388463

  6. #6
    Linux User cayalee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    england
    Posts
    389
    the sudo thing dint work so just did 'su', then put in 'passwd' and it worked a treat.
    there wasnt a driver for my printer but never mind! at least i learnt something new. cheers for your help
    You know, aliens are going to come to earth in 50 years and kill the hell out of us for DDoSing their networks with this SETI crap
    registered linux user #388463

  7. #7
    SCO
    SCO is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Eh!
    Posts
    65
    Ive never had any luck with my printer and any Non-Microsoft OS'es, I think it's probably a winprinter, it's a all-in-one, but I got it free with my computer, so Im not really that bothered about it.

  8. #8
    Linux User cayalee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    england
    Posts
    389
    it works ok on linux and windows and on my new mac, but i jst cant be arsed downloading BSD drivers was only an experiment, but i quite like BSD. may well try it fully instlled at some point
    You know, aliens are going to come to earth in 50 years and kill the hell out of us for DDoSing their networks with this SETI crap
    registered linux user #388463

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •