Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Thanks for the reply, Darkprince... The error for floppy drive is: Could not start program "mdir". Ensure that the ..mtools... package is installed correctly on your system. For cdrom..... when ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    222

    Thanks for the reply, Darkprince...

    The error for floppy drive is:

    Could not start program "mdir". Ensure that the ..mtools...
    package is installed correctly on your system.

    For cdrom..... when I used ....

    #mount -t cd9660/dev/acd0

    the error was

    Could not mount device, the reported error was
    cd9660: /dev/acd0: Operation not permitted

    And when I used the command.....

    #mount /dev/acd0

    the error was

    The process for the media died unexpectedly.

    I'm sure there is a log for these errors, I just couldn't find
    the log yet

  2. #12
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    222
    One curious observation......I checked my fstab file and noticed that the floppy drive is not listed there ! ! !

    could this be my problem for not be able to read from it ?....

  3. #13
    Linux User George Harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Pepperland
    Posts
    445
    Check fstab and make corrections, change permissions, mount, and you should be ready to go.
    Registered Linux user #393103

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    27
    Could not mount device, the reported error was
    cd9660: /dev/acd0: Operation not permitted

    are you doing this as root?

    regarding fstab ... you don't need entries in fstab unless you are just going to do
    #mount /dev/acd0

    With FreeBSD instead of using the '-t' switch you can do the following
    mount_cd9660
    mount_nfs
    mount_msdosfs
    etc etc.

  5. #15
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    222
    Thanks for the tips George.....

    Yes, Darkprince, I did it as root.

    Apparently, my FreeBSD Handbook is a volume
    one. And there is a volume two which may
    contains the infos I need. No wonder I couldn't
    find any infos relevant to the problems I'm trying
    to solve.

  6. #16
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Volume two is on the net too (no, not illegally), here: http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en_US.ISO...ook/index.html

    At least I think it's the same one, however all the info needed for most operations is described there.

  7. #17
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    222
    Thanks Jaboua, I found out about the second volume when
    the potential solutions I found referred to chapter 12 on the
    handbook. I check my book and there is no chapter 12 !!!

    I downloaded the whole thing onto my HD for easy reading
    off line...

    As a side note.....

    I finally did the ....emerge --update world ....on my Gentoo....
    didn't realize that it would take approx. 15 hours.....(groan)..
    and when it's done.....my Gentoo box is so screwed up that
    it would no longer boot ! ! ! ......ah-h-h-h-g-g-g-g-g.

  8. #18
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Quote Originally Posted by junkman4547
    I finally did the ....emerge --update world ....on my Gentoo.... didn't realize that it would take approx. 15 hours.....(groan).. and when it's done.....my Gentoo box is so screwed up that it would no longer boot ! ! ! ......ah-h-h-h-g-g-g-g-g.
    Damn... Have you tried getting into it with the livecd to try fix it (if you still have it installed)? Did you get any errors? And any errors at boot?

  9. #19
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    222
    Unfortunately, I was so discouraged that I decided to start
    over and erased the whole drive. The last message that
    I got from that process was an error message about KDE
    graphic. Gentoo was trying to boot but when it got to
    initializing the peripherals......it hung up there for a long while..
    then stopped and gave me a totally blank desktop without
    any icons at all.....

  10. #20
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,431
    Maybe the FS was corrupted? Any unclean shutdowns (readressing the power-button)

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •