Find the answer to your Linux question:
I've got a Toshiba Satellite P10-873 with the following spec: P4 3.2GHz HyperThreading 512Mb DDR ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 Pro 60GB HDD Synaptics Touchpad Lots more I can't think of ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

5.4 bootonly.iso hangs on boot

I've got a Toshiba Satellite P10-873 with the following spec:

P4 3.2GHz HyperThreading
    512Mb DDR
    ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 Pro
    60GB HDD
    Synaptics Touchpad
    Lots more I can't think of right now

I've never used BSD before and want to install it over my Linux partition to try it out. I've downloaded and burned the 5.4 bootonly.iso but can't get it to boot. I get the menu with the ASCII daemon and let the countdown time out, but then it hangs when it tries to boot the kernel.

I've tried the ACPI Off and Safe Mode options but the same thing happens. I don't have an option in my BIOS to turn off ACPI, but I can turn off HyperThreading (though I haven't tried this yet). Would this make a difference? Or is there something else I've overlooked?

I have verified that the CD is ok by booting it under VMWare and it boots to the installer fine.

Many thanks
    Mark

Have you verified that the CD boots on another machine? Also, what output do you get when you select the kernel?
    "Time is an illusion. Lunchtime, doubly so."
    ~Douglas Adams, The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

Just Joined!
    Hi sarumont

Before posting I tested the disc under VMWare and it booted fine. After your reply I tested in my company laptop (a Dell) and it also booted fine. So it would appear to be some kind of incompatiblility with my laptop. I have tried disabling HyperThreading in the BIOS but this made no difference.