Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey everyone, I am new to BSD and have two questions regarding ports. 1. How do I set it up so that my ports directory includes the latest and greatest? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

A Few Simple Ports Questions

Hey everyone,

I am new to BSD and have two questions regarding ports.

1. How do I set it up so that my ports directory includes the latest and greatest? I did cvsup with the supplied supfile with PCBSD but it is a bit outdated (not much but I like to be bleeding edge).
    2. Is there something I can do that would update the entire system, something like apt-get dist-upgrade? Can I do this with packages or would I have to do this with ports?

Thanks in advance,
    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

Linux Engineer
    Are you using FreeBSD? If so, check the handbook, it's all there.
    serzsite.com.ar
    "All the drugs in this world won\'t save you from yourself"

Linux Engineer
    PC-BSD should be avoided as they have designed their package manager to be incompatible with ports (they aren't even *aware* of each other)..

if you want a BSD aimed at user-friendly, etc.. check out DesktopBSD instead.. their intention is to *always* be based on and compatible with FreeBSD-STABLE...
    Their code will be beautiful, even if their desks are buried in 3 feet of crap. - esr

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Quote Originally Posted by lordnothing
    PC-BSD should be avoided as they have designed their package manager to be incompatible with ports (they aren't even *aware* of each other)..

if you want a BSD aimed at user-friendly, etc.. check out DesktopBSD instead.. their intention is to *always* be based on and compatible with FreeBSD-STABLE...