Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
loaded freebsd to second drive. what do i need in BOOT.INI for loader to run????...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    64

    bsd with windows loader


    loaded freebsd to second drive.

    what do i need in BOOT.INI for loader to run????

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    plug-in Second Disk as Primary, Windows Disk as Secondry and follow instruction from here to setup dual boot.
    OR
    check here for adding an entry in Boot.ini file.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Linux Guru Juan Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    /home/south_america/ecuador/quito
    Posts
    2,064
    Are you sure NTLDR.EXE supports FreeBSD slices or do you use any type of chainloading? Just curious
    Put your hand in an oven for a minute and it will be like an hour, sit beside a beautiful woman for an hour and it will be like a minute, that is relativity. --Albert Einstein
    Linux User #425940

    Don't PM me with questions, instead post in the forums

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    yes ! NTLDR supports FreeBSD. direct image creation creates problems all the time. BootPart does it correctly.






    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    64

    no other way

    i've read microsoft tech pages on boot.ini and ntldr

    que's book special edition using win xp home says this (i havn't tried it yet) put a formatted ms-dos disk in floppy drive.

    mount -t msdos /dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy

    store your (linux etc) boot sector to this disk
    copy this info bootsect.lnx file to your root c: (boot) drive
    MUST BE ROOT SECTOR AREA is there note.

    next modify your Boot.INI file in xp

    ADD LINE c:\bootsect.lnx=" RED HAT LINUX..." save file



    NOTE can't wait for dual boot problems with new vista ... microsoft changed there loader sequence to bcd ( not binary coded decimal )


    http://technet2.microsoft.com/Window....mspx?mfr=true

    What is the BCD store? FROM MICROSOFT SITE
    The Boot Configuration Data (BCD) store contains boot configuration parameters and controls how the operating system is started in Microsoft® Windows Vista™ and Microsoft® Windows Server® Code Name "Longhorn" operating systems. These parameters were previously in the Boot.ini file (in BIOS-based operating systems) or in the nonvolatile RAM (NVRAM) entries (in Extensible Firmware Interface–based operating systems). You can use the Bcdedit.exe command-line tool to affect the Windows® code which runs in the pre-operating system environment by adding, deleting, editing, and appending entries in the BCD store. Bcdedit.exe is located in the \Windows\System32 directory of the Windows Vista partition.



    5. Boot.ini Is History FROM MICROSOFT SITE

    That's right, the Boot.ini file is not used in Windows Vista or in the new Windows PE 2.0. Instead, a new boot loader, bootmgr, reads boot configuration data from a special file named BCD. A brand new tool called bcdedit.exe (or a separate Windows Management Instrumentation or WMI provider) is used to maintain the contents of the BCD. A Windows PE 2.0 boot image can be configured in BCD too, making it easy to boot into either Windows Vista or Windows PE without making any other changes to the machine. This flexibility can be useful in recovery or maintenance scenarios.


    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sys...n/bootini.mspx



    thoughts --- help --- other ideas???

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    GRUB doesn't use boot.ini file and it doesn't matter if Vista uses different sequence/files for boot up. best way is to install GRUB and add an entry of Vista in it.







    Casper
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    iowa
    Posts
    64

    gates's win is so flaky reload reload reload

    every time you turn around windows needs reloaded to fix a problem.

    ... and it'll overwrite the other loader .... and you'll have to fix this too.

    OR backup and reinstall the entire drive WHAT A PAIN!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •