Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi all, I installed FreeBSD 6.2 on my multiboot system(It has WinXP, Ubuntu, openSuSE and Vectorlinux). I'm using GRUB to load all these OSes. The FreeBSD is working fine except ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

GUI not starting in FreeBSD 6.2

Hi all,
    I installed FreeBSD 6.2 on my multiboot system(It has WinXP, Ubuntu, openSuSE and Vectorlinux). I'm using GRUB to load all these OSes.

The FreeBSD is working fine except that there is no gui. If I type 'startx' a blank screen with some box |Hz| floating, comes. Then if I go the the terminal I've these error msgs(the lines beginning with (EE)):

Unable to loacate /open config file
    Failed to load module 'fbdev' (module does not exist, 0)

I'd selected 'All' in the package selection option so X should have been installed.

I dont have a seperate graphics card but a onboard via 8237A chipset.

I'm new to BSD and Linux. So please guide me step-by-step. Any links with lucid explanation is also welcome.

Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Did you install a GUI, configure X and put the GUI you would like to start in your .xinitrc?

Just Joined!
    I'm sorry I did not get you. But I tried the following.
    1. I'd selected 'All' while installing the packages during installation. Won't that install X11?
    Anyway I tried:
    cd /usr/ports/x11/xorg
    make install clean
    but it tried to search something..Mesalib-6.2... and gave Error code 1
    2. I then tried:
    Xorg -configure and then
    X -config /root/xorg.conf.new
    It again came to the original blank screen I described.
    3. I dont know about ~/.xinitrc.

If you want the output of some command or someother info from my system plz let me know.